Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 08-30-2004, 06:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
LR coming tommorow!

I am psyched! I only got about 30# of keys for my 55g. I wanted to start small because a. I am half broke this week and b. it is my first time with LR. I am going to put the rock in my 20 g. QT tank for a few weeks to weed out all the bad guys. Any hints on what to look for? How do I get rid of the bad guys, what are the bad guys, should I somehow feed the inverts at all with algea capsules or whatever? Just basically any hints on starting out. Also what salinity is recommended for inverts (keep in mind I have other fish). Right now my 55 is at 1.0215 but I plan on keeping the rock in my QT for a few weeks so I have plenty of time to gradually raise the level in the 55.

MattP725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 06:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
Also my QT only has gravel... no sand like my 55. Do I need to get sand before tommorow for the rock or will the critters be fine with gravel (for a few weeks atleast).

MattP725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 06:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Send a message via MSN to RocketSeason
congrats on the rock! Mine came last thursday. great stuff!

I did my best to get rid of the crabs. There are still two small ones in my tank but no big deal. I did a brief high salinity dip and that drove out about 6 of em. Zack says don't do it, but as long as it is brief, It shouldnt hurt to much....so I have been told.

What I am worried about is the infamous Mantis Shrimp. I have yet to see one, but from what Zack says, they are not as harmful as the kind that come in Fiji Rock.

If I catch one though. Its OUTTA HERE!