Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-24-2011, 10:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

LR vs coral

I'm new to the SW scene and was wondering why people get LR? I realize it is easy to care for, compared to coral. But what is the benefit to LR? Do things grow out of it? also can you use LR as a base to add coral? or is that the concept of LR? Totally new to SW and am more confused than ever!

Thanks for the help and I'm sure I'll be asking tons more questions

Old 04-24-2011, 10:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Live rock is a form of filtration. it builds benificial bacteria that breaks down ammonia into nitrites and then a less harmful nitrate. its a much more natural filtration and saltwater systems, mainly reef systems do best with a natural filtration system, ie. live rock, deep sand bed, micro algaes.

as well it gives a place to perch corals and for caves and places for fish to hide

Old 04-24-2011, 10:37 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Live rock will be your number one friend. It'll be your main source of biological filtration and most important filtration system for your tank. The live rock is called "live" because it contains so many forms of algea, bacteria and other organisms which will consume ammonias, nitrates and phosphates, all harmful to your livestock. IMO, without some sort of live rock, you can't have corals. You need atleast as many pounds of live rock as you have gallons of saltwater in your aquarium. This provides enough surface area for the water to be filtered by the algeas, ect from harmful wast products. Live rock can be just as pretty to look at as some corals and acts as a wonderful, almost ideal home for all corals. Hope this helps.
Old 04-24-2011, 10:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote: