Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-18-2010, 06:23 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to skratchiechan
LS question.

hello guys I just got my 60g tank up and running. i added salt and dechlorinizer and the hydrometer is reading at 1.023. the water temp is not at 78 yet... just curious to know if I can add the LS in before the temp reaches to 78? thanks!

specs of my tank
60g (48x15x17)
1 koralia evo 750gph
1 marineland heater 200w
aquaeuro skimmer

ps
was also wondering if I needed another PH or is this enough to create flow in my tank.
__________________

__________________
skratchiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 08:08 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
sure, you can add it now. it's not heated in the bag. the power head question is going to be up to your needs. is this just a fish tank or will you keep corals? for corals you are going to have to decide on which corals you intend to keep and add flow as needed per each species.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 08:28 AM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,542
Also if you are doing corals you might want to consider going to RO/DI water. Tap water will not be in your reef tanks best interest.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 08:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to skratchiechan
wow thanks for the quick response!!!
I want to eventually add corals but want to get the hang of things before. from now on I will be using RO water for PCW.
__________________
skratchiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 08:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to skratchiechan
also should I leave the skimmer on? I think I've read somewhere on the forum to shut it off?
__________________
skratchiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 08:42 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
it's not really going to effect anything either way, but i would leave it off because it's probably going to get full of sand dust when you add the sand.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 08:51 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to skratchiechan
ok last question for now

I had it on while I was adding the LS and I noticed lil bit of sand dust in the skimmer should I take it out and rinse it? or just let it be?
thanks mr.x!
__________________
skratchiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 08:56 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i would just be concerned about the impeller of the pump sucking up sand particles. it probably won't, but it might do it some damage.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:06 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,812
For the short period of time the skimmer pump was on I doubt it caused any impeller damage. But I would clean the skimmer of the sand and put it back, but leave it turned off till the cycle is complete.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 01:18 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to skratchiechan
is it normal for the salinity to go down after adding LS? it's reading at 1.020 should I add more salt?
__________________
skratchiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 01:31 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
it's not normal. what are you using to measure salinity? a swing arm hydrometer? they are very inaccurate. check to see if any air bubbles are attached to the arm.
i would raise the salinity to .025-.026
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 01:41 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to skratchiechan
Im using the hydrometer... so if there are no air bubbles should I add more salt and if so how much of it? maybe 1/4 of a cup?
__________________
skratchiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 05:06 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
well, hydrometers are inaccurate as i stated above. it may still be incorrect. meanwhile, you would add a little, let it circulate a bit, then add more if necessary. you can't just go by the recommendations on the package because there are more variables to consider, like for instance, the water temp.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 07:36 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to skratchiechan
just added more salt and the salinity is at 1.023/4... and the water temp at 79

edit: also there's this glass piece on the middle of the tank (on the top) I was wondering if that is going to affect my lighting in any way? I want to a reef tank
__________________
skratchiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 09:17 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
no. it won't effect your lighting, unless you have a single bulb right over top of that brace. what fixture are you considering for the tank?
btw, .026 is the target salinity.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 09:52 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to skratchiechan
thanks mr.x! I'm not sure what kind of fixture to get atm. something that is powerful enough to get to the corals and reef. do you recommend any fixtures?
__________________
skratchiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:34 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
what is the light you are using?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:53 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to skratchiechan
nothing as of yet... read here that reallydont need light for cycling. what would you suggest?
__________________
skratchiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 08:08 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by skratchiechan View Post

edit: also there's this glass piece on the middle of the tank (on the top) I was wondering if that is going to affect my lighting in any way?
the reason i asked what fixture you are using, is some fixtures have a single metal halide bulb right in the middle. i would say this brace would effect your lighting if this was the one you had/considered.
if you went with t-5s or something, the brace would not effect it.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 08:45 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
I thought about getting the HQI with the light in the middle, but I completely forgot about the brace on my 55gallon. Here are the 2 lights I looked at; and I think this is an example to what Doug was referencing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mh1.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	26497   Click image for larger version

Name:	mh2.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	19.6 KB
ID:	26498  

__________________

__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heater question and check valve question brigoody General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 11-17-2007 03:34 PM
Stupid question, but...Nitrite/Nitrate question AIKakashi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 04-11-2006 11:00 AM
Poop question...Gross I know. Wondering. And sleep question Melissamustang Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-23-2006 02:31 PM
Gravel question/ moving question Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-27-2005 07:40 AM
Not a tank question....but sig question? Coralena Forum Admin & Announcements 5 08-28-2003 02:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×