Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-17-2008, 10:01 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 101
I'm going to try and get a titanium ground probe today. Where would I find one? LFS or home depot? Do I need more than one? (140gal SW)
__________________

__________________
Got Water? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 02:06 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
You only need one. You might be able to find them at home depot, I'm not really sure. Your LFS should have one. If not, I got mine from drsfosterandsmith.com.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 08:00 PM   #13
919
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
You only need one. You might be able to find them at home depot, I'm not really sure. Your LFS should have one. If not, I got mine from drsfosterandsmith.com.
I dont think that Home Depot would carry one, I got mine at my local fish store.

They are not the nicest looking items, but remember you can always throw it into your sump, or HOB skimmer...
__________________
919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 08:32 PM   #14
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Word of caution. If you use a grounding probe, make sure you are plugged into a GFI recepticle or breaker. If it's not, and you have a voltage leak and stick you hand in the tank, you can get electrocuted. DO NOT use 1 without the other.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 09:46 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Thanks Larry, I forgot to add that!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 11:48 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Got Water? View Post
I have a Nova Extreme, 8 T5's with 4 lunar leds. The fixture is only about 6 months old. The leds burned out after about 2 months. I contacted customer service at Currant and was surprised that they sent me some replacement bulbs and new transformer right away. (That's what I put in). The lunar leds had not been on for several months so I thought that might explain my fish's fishy behavior. I still don't know what freeked-out my fish, but 24 hours later everything was back to normal. I'm pleased to know that Currant stands behind there products.
Were the LED"s dual... (2 per socket).. if so, do you happen to have the part numbers for them?

My new fixture came with deep blue moon lights... I was experimenting earlier with diff colors, and cool white... (white with a hint of blue) looks best, and the fish/nightlife seem the least affected. These blue lunars are too bright too... fish don't act normal at night time, they don't hide and sleep... they just kinda move slowly around the aquarium.
__________________

__________________
Justin_Toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lights, lunar

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lunar Lights Tank2379 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-24-2008 09:51 AM
Lunar Lights csquare77 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-16-2007 03:05 PM
lunar lights? blazeyreef Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-30-2006 06:02 PM
lunar lights necessary? mickey Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 10-23-2006 06:30 PM
lunar lights mjvincent Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 02-18-2005 06:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.