Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-10-2013, 12:32 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supa Belle View Post
What type of clean up crew do you have and how old is your tank?
my tank was set up in October and was done cycling by the end of october, I have a turbo snail, 4 nassarius snails, 2-3 other snails not sure of the exact species, a sand sifting sea star, cleaner shrimp, and about 10 hermits mixed blue and red leg.
__________________

__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 01:08 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Supa Belle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: S.A. Texas
Posts: 322
What type of filtration? Cause the only thing I could see is your tank hasn't fully cycled and the water changes are high nutrient or your where ever your getting your RO water needs Maintence
__________________

__________________
90 gal display 30 gal sump/fuge
San Antonio, Texas
Supa Belle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 01:21 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
I did buy a coralife ro/di unit off ebay bt it was used so, I may need to change the filters. I bought a tds meter waiting for it to come in the mail. My tank is fully cycled. It has been for over 2 months. This is month 4. All of my parameters ph, trite, trate, ammonia, phos,alk,mag everything is good and where it needs to be. I just have a lot of algae on the back wall and the glass I wipe down every or every other day but like I mentioned it seems to be more of a slight build up when I top off w. rodi water. Ill wait to see what the tds meter says and Im going to test rodi water before I put it in, which I havent done yet.
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:26 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Supa Belle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: S.A. Texas
Posts: 322
I have a coralife RO unit also I was buying water from the water machines where you fill the blue 5 gal jugs that's when I had algea problems but my turbos got that under control and even when I top off with my RO I don't have that prob you may want to change the filters just cause it was a used system
__________________
90 gal display 30 gal sump/fuge
San Antonio, Texas
Supa Belle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 06:42 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
It was used so I'm going to buy new filters. Hopefully that will resolve my issue.
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:30 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Supa Belle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: S.A. Texas
Posts: 322
Yea I'm thinking it should unless your phosphates are a lil high have u tested those?
__________________
90 gal display 30 gal sump/fuge
San Antonio, Texas
Supa Belle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:32 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
Yes I do. After testing all my parameters came back normal. trates and phos is at 0. I will post a picture, mainly all is on the back wall because of my hob filter I am unable to clean the back wall + its black so not so noticable. I'm not sure, maybe it's normal.
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:36 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
I'm unsure if some of it is coralline algae starting to grow or "red slime"

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-332925505.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	219.4 KB
ID:	143307



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3601458153.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	170.1 KB
ID:	143308



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3253066325.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	163.7 KB
ID:	143309
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:09 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Supa Belle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: S.A. Texas
Posts: 322
Surprised your snails aren't all over that
__________________
90 gal display 30 gal sump/fuge
San Antonio, Texas
Supa Belle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:13 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
I know, sometimes they are on the back wall you can tell in my tank the trails but most of the time they hang on the rocks and my nassarius snails usually stay in the bed or every now and then on the front glass. Do you think I should add more snails i have about 6-7
__________________

__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, macroalgae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.