Marine Startup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KaZoN

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all

I am setting up my first reef aquarium and am looking for some advice and comments. I have been keeping tropical fish for 6 years so Im not totally new but marine is quite complex to me.

I am planning on setting up a 60"x18"x24" aquarium using live rock setup with a sump. Protein skimmer to be located in sump.

A 6"x6" overflow is to be located in the back left hand corner to serve both as drain and return. I will use 1 powerhead in opposite corner. I am hoping to move between 600 - 900GPH with the overflow and return (not sure if this is possible).

Havent figured out the lighting requirments yet but any comments on what I have figured out would be greatly appreciated.

Couple of pics of home made stand below

Thanks

Attachments

• dscf0038.jpg
    dscf0038.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 206
  • dscf0039.jpg
    dscf0039.jpg
    29.3 KB · Views: 207
  • dscf0038.jpg
    dscf0038.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 203
Are you thinking MH lights? Do you have a canopy (or build one?)

Make sure to install the sump first - it may be hard fitting it in with those center beams :)

Yeah sump is going to go in first will probably build it myself.

I am going to build the canopy but havent designed it yet.

I think MH is the way to go but need to do some more homework

I'd do 3 bulbs on a 60", but since you'll have some overlap, suggest 175W bulbs (unless you want to run 20k)

Does the tank have a center brace? Or 2 offset braces? Or (lucky) no braces?

Tank hasnt been built yet. Will be getting it ordered in the next week. Have been waiting till Im sure where the drill holes are going as I want the tank predrilled before its ordered.