Maybe I'm just crazy...........

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MACATUA

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am a newbie to the hobby, and maybe my impatience is getting the best of me. But I have been on a fishless cycle for 3 weeks now, and I was thinking by now that a I should start to see my amonia drop. However it is at an all time high, like above what the test kit can even measure. My Nitrates are beginning to spike also. I did do a partial water change about three days ago, and that didn't even help. Any advice? Or am I just not waitning long enough to see results?

what else is in the tank? how much LR? how much LS? how much other substrate? I wouldn't do any water changes, especially while the ammonia is high. Tell us more detail about how you are cycling, please.

Fishless cycle as in raw shrimp?

Well I have about 25 lbs of base rock, 25 lbs of lr that had been at the LFS for about 6 weeks before I bought it. I alos have about 40 lbs of ls. I am running a skilter 400 for filtration (I know it is not a good skimmer!) as well as anoother HOB for up to a 45 gallon tank. That help?

let it be. it could take as much as 6 to 8 weeks, also water changes slow the proscess. don't do any till the cycle is over. removing amonia only slows the growth of your benificial bacteria. :wink:

MACATUA said:
I have been on a fishless cycle for 3 weeks now, and I was thinking by now that a I should start to see my amonia drop. However it is at an all time high
What is the actual reading from the test kit? When did the ammonia start to rise versus the reading you have now? What is the brand of test kit?

Could easily be that the pre-cured LR and LS have not yet had time to grow the proper nitrosomonas to convert the ammonia as yet. It is rather odd that the levels are still high with no rotting matter to continually feed the NH3 levels.