Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-06-2004, 03:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Might be a dumb question...

I was just curious as to how exactly I am supposed to do the water changes. Am I supposed to do like I used to on my FW tanks and use a syphon to stir up the sand bed and get the nasty stuff off of the rocks and bottom. Or am I supposed to just take it off the top. I have been just taking it off the top so far.
__________________

__________________
ppavlik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 05:36 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
If you have fine sand for a substrate, just get the trash off the top. I don't even vacuum my sand at all...I just pull water out of the tank and replace it with new SW. It depends on what kind of tank you have as well. If it's a FO tank, you may not have a good population of sand sifters to keep the sand clean. If you have a CC substrate, vacuum it as you would a FW tank.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 10:16 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Also remember to premix your saltwater and have it up to tank tempature before adding back into the tank.

You can get a turkey baster to squirt detrius off the rocks but try to not disturb the sand bed unless you must. If you have something on top of the sand bed you can hold the syphon tube above the sand bed and it should take it off the surface or you can lightly fan above the sand bed but you dont want to stir up the sandbed in general.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 11:10 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I "skim" the surface of the sandbed with tubing that is about 1/2 inch in diameter. This gets the detritus off the sandbed without losing too much sand. Then I take the rest off the top.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 11:57 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 804
Once in a while I use a turkey baster to get the detritus on the LR into suspension before I siphon. I never touch the sandbed.
__________________
46g SW, 65 lbs Fiji LR, 4" Aragamax DSB, Coralife 2X96w CF, CPR Bakpak II, CPR Aquafuge 12 w/ 2x9 Coralife Mini Aqualight, 4 Maxijet 600's, PCI 200W Titanium Heater, 2 Blue Green Chromis, 1 Gold Bar Maroon Clown, 1 Purple-Stripe Dottyback, Finger Leather, Trumpets, Rose Coral Open-Brain, Pagoda Cup, Xenia, Star Polyps, Yellow Polyps, Various Mushrooms, Toadstool Leather, 12 Astraea, 10 Nassarius, 4 Bumble Bee, 6 Cerith Snails, 12 Red Tip Hermits.
phases99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 12:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Thanks for all of the info. This forum is a real gold mine of info for beginners like me.
__________________
ppavlik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 01:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
oh by the way there are no dumb questions
__________________

__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Really dumb question Charlie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 01-15-2011 01:09 PM
Maybe a dumb question but........ dvanv Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 04-16-2007 03:45 PM
Dumb Question zacdl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-02-2005 04:05 PM
Dumb RO/DI question dralarms Saltwater Reef Aquaria 21 04-26-2004 07:19 PM
Dumb Betta question or dumb betta? dralarms Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-15-2003 08:29 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.