Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-14-2003, 06:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ohio
Posts: 93
might have to move tank

So our one bathroom a pipe leaked and our whole wood floor flooded and we're thinking about getting it replaced. But, my 4 month old 75 gal tank and stand are on the wood floor. Could it be possible to switch my live rock over to another tank pump the water out and put my fish in my quarentine tank and then when the floor is done switch everything over again to a new pre drilled tank...my tank now isnt drilled and i really want a predrilled one. So could i switch everything over to another tank, probably a new pre drilled one, then put it back in the old tank, put the new pre drilled tank on the stand and back in place and then place everything into the new pre drilled tank and build a sump? Or will this be reallly harmful. Also I'd like to switch to a different kind of substrate maybe like a black sand because my white crushed coral looks bad. Any ideas if its possible?
__________________

__________________
DamselnDistress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 07:32 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Sure its possible. You will need to time it as best as possible to limit the time the fish are in the cramped qtank. If you put your rock in large tubs full of saltwater with pumps and heaters to circulate and keep the tank temp up you should have no problems.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 07:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ohio
Posts: 93
you think I could put everything in like trash cans with my water and powerheads? And then put my new sand in the new tank and then add my water and rocks back in and let it settle a little while and then add in my fish?
__________________
DamselnDistress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 11:13 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
you can certainly use trash cans (as long as they're new clean cans that don't leak ;o) )

the trouble you might run into is the "Add new sand" part. if you're changing your substrate you'll be losing a very large portion of your denitrifying bacteria so you might start a small cycle. You can lessen this to some degree by filling some clean pantyhose with your old substrate and tie them off, set them on top of the new substrate and leave them there for at least a week, then remove them gradually over time.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
move, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to move a tank alicappello Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 06-26-2006 04:21 AM
How To Move Eggs From Tank Sides to Breeding Tank? DarylF2 Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 8 06-23-2006 01:13 AM
Need to replace tank/choose tank and move inhabitants. HELP sherry Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 10-28-2005 11:11 AM
FO tank, can I move around my LR? AndrewD Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-08-2005 06:44 PM
BEST WAY TO MOVE A TANK KMyers18 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 04-03-2005 10:47 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.