Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-15-2012, 09:48 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Hey ftwmms is there any way you can post pics of your scrubber for me? The whole system from the dt to the scrubber and back would be great. I have been reading about it but there are somethings I'm unsure about . I'm kinda a visual person so that would help me so much. Or if anyone else has some pics of theirs feel free to post them.

Still haven't done anything to this tank really. It did start cycling on it's own . Ammonia is at 0. Nitrite is at 1.0 and trate is about 40ppm. I'm rethinking my stock from clownfish and goby / shrimp pair to having just one angler . I just have to let my girl know that she might not be able to get her a goby haha. We will see what happens . I still have to leave the tank 5 more weeks fishless since I did put some rock from the 180 in there.

Can someone help me with lighting . I was going to get a dual bulb t5 ho but I might just want to do LEDs so I don't have to change bulbs. It just has to be enough to keep mushrooms in a 2 ft tall tank .
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 05:15 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,651
Sure ,NP..ANGLER FTW ,,that would be super sweet!
Heres my current one on the 280,I T'ed the overflow to to have both down flows feeding the screen on the one now..
algae scrubber - YouTube

Heres one i had on my old 125,,
__________________

__________________
Currently rebuilding
QTing is a good thing
Grow your filtration
FTMMWS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 05:20 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Thanks ft. Im glad you posted a video instead of a picture . It's very loud and I think I would never be able to sleep since the tank is in my bedroom. I was excited about a turf scrubber but after hearing that I may have to go with a standard sump and skimmer.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 05:22 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,651
Well,remember the cam is nearly inside the cabinet and everything always sounds louder on video..Notice my kids in the background ..TBH its not really loud at all...I don't think its any louder than a skimmer pump running and making bubbles..If your still interested i'll make a vid later of the tank from a foot or so away then you can judge
__________________
Currently rebuilding
QTing is a good thing
Grow your filtration
FTMMWS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 05:24 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
I'm still interested but I'm still stumped on making it work without having a drilled tank .edit I should have watched the other video before I posted lol. So with my 45 how many gph should my overflow be and also gph on the return pump?
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 05:54 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,651
Flow to the screen depends on the size of the screen..For a 45 and a light bioload(if doing only the angler) i would shoot for 150-200 GPH over an 8x8 screen ..I'm gonna be honest ,i never sat down and figured out all the flow rates and stuff for mine ..Kinda went by the looks of the flow..
Remember a ball valve is a must

Have you ever checked out the thread in the DIY section by flloyd... Its very good and detailed
__________________
Currently rebuilding
QTing is a good thing
Grow your filtration
FTMMWS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:00 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
I have looked but i just can't look at the pics without a connection error. I guess since the smallest overflow that I seen CPR make is 300 gph just matching that with a 500gph return pump and a 10x 10 screen might be the way to go
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:16 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,651
Does the CPR overflow have 1 or 2 outputs..You could use one and get the 150 GPH...,,but it won't hurt to do it your way either ,,better to have a little more flow than not enough
__________________
Currently rebuilding
QTing is a good thing
Grow your filtration
FTMMWS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:23 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
That model has one pipe. I think if I do it my way with ball valves I should be good just will have to adjust the valves.

Ok time for an update . I just checked the parameters and the cycle has finished 0 ammo 0 trites and 40 trates. Time for a big Pwc tomorrow. I still don't know what I'm doing for lighting for the shrooms so I need some help there. I can't add my angler for another 4 weeks because I did use rock from my 180 with ick but i would like to throw a few shrooms in there ASAP . Just need my lights and I will add my scrubber whenever I finish it.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 11:19 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TLTGF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,123
That is good news!
__________________

__________________
TLTGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
45 gallon, 5 gallon, build, mushroom, tan, tank build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you had a 10000 Gallon Tank fishyperson3010 Aquaria Off-Topic 397 03-26-2014 03:48 PM
My 29 gallon reef TigerBarbs Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 390 01-05-2013 10:44 AM
Almost Completely Cycled Tank sanchezkk Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 12 03-14-2012 11:31 PM
How long to leave cucumber in a tank josh7 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-14-2012 09:53 PM
New150 WatT mEtaL HAlide ON 27 Gallon Flow863 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 03-14-2012 09:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.