Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-21-2012, 02:53 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 328
I ended up just doing a 10 gal. water change in the am. and then tested the water in the evening. Ammonia tested at 0.

This morning I retested and ammonia is still 0. All other tests are fine as well, does that mean we are safe to begin adding some other fish/invertebrates?

Using the 10 gal. as a QT:
Also, since we have the 10 gal. empty and an extra filter. We can begin to use that for a QT. Do you have advice on how to QT fish, invertebrates, or corals? How do we prevent a cycle in a QT? Should we use medicines as a preventative measure against parasites? How long should we treat and/or quarantine? Would we need to upgrade our 10 gal. light if we quarantine corals?
__________________

__________________
D & J
<)))><
themartins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:55 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by themartins
I ended up just doing a 10 gal. water change in the am. and then tested the water in the evening. Ammonia tested at 0.

This morning I retested and ammonia is still 0. All other tests are fine as well, does that mean we are safe to begin adding some other fish/invertebrates?
I think it would be best to wait a few days and retest to be sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by themartins
Using the 10 gal. as a QT:
Also, since we have the 10 gal. empty and an extra filter. We can begin to use that for a QT. Do you have advice on how to QT fish, invertebrates, or corals? How do we prevent a cycle in a QT? Should we use medicines as a preventative measure against parasites? How long should we treat and/or quarantine? Would we need to upgrade our 10 gal. light if we quarantine corals?
Check out the links for info on quarantine.

http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/20...ture/index.php
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, mini, question

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.