Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-25-2003, 09:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
More Water Woes

As some of you lovely people may know, I recently did a 10 gallon water change (25%) using Deer Park Spring water. Now, I don't know if these two events are related, but when I came home yesterday, the tank was completely covered in brown yukky stuff. What a mess!! My protien skimmer is working overtime! Now, I don't know if it was the Deer Park water that caused this brown algae to form overnight, but just to be safe, I decided that spring water might not be the right way to go. (That, and the fact that many here said it was not a good idea for a reef tank)

So, I decided to go back to the tap water DI filter I bought from the LFS when I started my aquarium. It is only 3 weeks old, and has only processed about 50 gallons of water total. The directions say to set the flow rate so that it will fill 1 cup in about 25 to 30 seconds. I did that.

I filled a bucket (clean) with one gallon of this filtered DI water, and then added salt, and brought it to 1.022 SG and 78 degrees F.

Then I did all my tests on this water - I wanted to make sure it was usable as replacement water. The results were SHOCKING!!

pH = 8.2
Amonia = 2.0
Nitrites = 0
Nitrates = 0
Calcium = 400mg/L
Phosphates 0.2
KH = 180ppm
GH = 1300ppm

Amonia of 2.0! I don't understand why it would be so high from filtered water. I did mix the salt in with the same metal measuring cup I used to measure the salt. Could stiring the mixture with a metal cup cause this reading?? Should I have run the tests on a larger batch (i.e. 5 gallons)??

And KH and GH are wicked high. They are also high in the tank.

How do I lower KH and GH? These hardness numbers are pretty confusing to me.

I'm at the end of my rope. I can't use water from the tap. I can't use spring water. And it looks like I can't use water from this DI filter, either. This can't be that hard. I find it hard to believe that every saltwater aquarium owner in the world has an RO filter installed in their home. It isn't supposed to be this hard. Anybody have suggestions? What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your patience!

Todd
__________________

__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 09:50 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 24
Todd, "It being hard is what makes it great, if it were easy, everyone would be doing it."
Not everyone one has a RO unit, Like myself. But those of us who do not, want one very badly.
There are many department and grocery stores in my area that have RO water for sale in those "bring your own jug" machines. Ask the manager how the water is filtered.
Your DI filter will not remove ammonia.
My two cents: the men and women here are very smart. I said " it can not be that hard. Many failures later, I started to listen to the experts. Very happy fish now!
A friend put it to me best: To the fish in that tank you are god, on day one you created their planet. the second day, let there be water. Day three, let there be light.. Day 4, let the earth spring forth mountains. Day five, he created the first fish. day six, the great water change. on day seven, he rests. The marine aquarium gods days last about one week. LOL.
It took millions of years to make our oceans just right for these little guys.
No one ever said playing god was easy.
But, man when you get it....you got it.
As always THANKS TO EVERYONE.
Could not have made thru creation without you!
EJ
Have a wonderfilled day!!
__________________

__________________
ewisner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 10:08 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
Quote:
Originally Posted by ewisner
Your DI filter will not remove ammonia.
I just read the instructions that came with the DI filter, and it says that it does indeed remove Ammonium (NH4+). I wonder if the filter is shot already.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewisner
There are many department and grocery stores in my area that have RO water for sale in those "bring your own jug" machines. Ask the manager how the water is filtered.
This may be the way to go - good idea!

Also, about the GH testing, I just read on my testing kit that GH testing is not recommended on saltwater. Is this true?? and how do I LOWER my KH??

Thanks to all!

Todd
__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 10:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
Okay, I am thinking of returning the DI filter to the store and getting an RO unit.

Can someone take a look at this link, and tell me if this unit is a good deal? (the text of the link may have "wraped" on the screen, so you may have to cut-n-paste)

Thanks so much!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=20758
__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 10:44 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
Here is a link to the current water filter I am using. The description states that it removes amonia.

http://www.petco.com/product_info.as...5&dept_id=%2D2

mabie I just need new filter media, but Ive onlyh processed about 50 gallons on this one. . .

*sigh* I paid $70 for it at the LFS I went to. Perhaps I should return it and trade up to a RO/DI unit....... I feel like i'm spinning . . . where did all my money go!

Todd
__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 10:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: IL
Posts: 53
i don't know much about SW (just reading here, i have a FW currently)
but R/O water is readily available at most super markets where i live (MI).
you can bring in the big 2.5G jugs, and fill for like $.50 a gallon.
i'm not sure how much RO units go for, but that might be cheaper, atleast in the short run? good luck
__________________

__________________
Spy_90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycling woes Sahabo Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 11-20-2008 08:02 PM
Water Parameter Woes Arinon Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 09-03-2006 11:59 AM
hard water woes jacktheknife Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 25 12-13-2004 09:26 PM
Ammonia woes... Saltee Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 11-29-2003 04:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.