Mostly sump plumbing...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mtglore

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here, but not new to the hobby. I am, however, starting my first reef setup and am looking for some seasoned advice on a few matters.

I'm setting up a 55 gallon tank with a 15 gallon sump run "ecosystem" style. My first question concerns sump plumbing. I bought the main tank used and it has been drilled about 4 inches below that I imagine will be the waterline. The hole is about 1.25 inches in diameter and came with an overflow that consists of a vertical PVC pipe (the interior diameter about .75 inches in diameter) with a strainer and an elbow that runs perpendicular to the back of the wall via a bulkhead. My main concern is that this hole is not large enough to permit enough water to exit the main tank for the aquarium contents to circulate a sufficient amount of times (e.g., about 10 X). I know that the tank will only drain as much as water as the sump returns to it. I'm running a Mag 7 which I estimate is getting 500-600 gph with the head. So basically, the PVC strainer must be able to handle at least that. Should I change the diameter of the PVC overflow? If so, how large should it be? I have also heard that the draining line must have a larger diameter than that which leads from the sump to the tank. But how much larger? Of course, I could just install a ball valve at the output of the sump pump. But, I would like to get as much flow as possible. Morover, does the pressure built up behind the ball valve affect the pump at all?