Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-21-2007, 06:07 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
i just got everything up and running and where i would like it to be. now i noticed that the water level in the 2nd chamber is about 50%, and the 3rd chamber is almost empty. the first chamber is full and i can see allot of flow in it. does that mean some or all of the filters are in need of change??
__________________

__________________
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 08:11 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Hmm....not sure about the filter issue. I thought I would chime in with what I have mine going into. Mine is a 5stage 100gpd and I have it going into my fish room and it fills a 32g trashcan which I have a heater and a circ pump in. I have a drain pump that I drop in when I need to fill buckets and mix saltwater up. Works great!

All of these units require a certain amount of water pressure to work properly so if you don't have at least 40psi I think (someone correct me) you wont get the water to go through the RO membrane and you wont have the filtered water you think you do.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 09:51 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
i use my garden hose for water and the pressure appears to be greater than 40 psi, i guess i need a pressure gauge to be sure. i just replaced the micron filter and the carbon filter and the unit completely filled in all three chambers, but the flow is still painfully slow. i was only able to get about 10 gallons since 11 am. i did not replace the di filter yet, but i will tommorow after i buy a gauge to make sure the pressure isnt the problem.
__________________
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 11:18 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Like I said I'm not sure what the pressure is supposed to be but I know it has to be a decent amount of pressure. I can tell you that mine is "painfully" slow too but that is how these filters work. It takes a lot of pressure to push the water through that RO membrane. I usually get about 15-20g in 8 hours. I try not to let it run more then that because I have, more then once, forgot to turn it off and have had very precious RO/DI water running all over my basement floor.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 12:21 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
As I said in the earlier post, you really need about 50psi. If you're below 40psi, you need a booster pump to get decent performance from the unit. Having two pressure gauges (see pics) will tell you when you need to change filters. A TDS meter ($40 or so) will alert you when to change RO membranes or DI cartridges. A hydraulic shut off coupled with a float valve in the reservoir will solve the turning it on and off. A Rubbermaid Brute trash can makes an excellent container. If you're worried about an overflow, put an emergency drain right at the top of the container and run it either outside or tee it into a drain line under the house. I can send you some pics of how all this is set up if you are interested in doing any of this. You also should rig a backflush valve on your unit so you can backflush the membrane once in a while...it'll last longer and work better.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 01:55 AM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I have a flush valve on my unit it came with one I usually let it flush for 15-20 minutes once a week or so. I've thought about putting something on mine to have it shut off but I have no idea where to start with that! Some help would be great!!
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 08:45 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I'll get some pics together...maybe do an article on it. You only need to backflush for about 30-45 seconds. There's no harm in running it longer though.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 06:01 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
i went ahead and changed the carbon and micron filters and it filled up instantly, i got about 20 gallons in 7 hours. so much for the guys claim of "only 50 gallons of use". im gonna change the di filter, then i'll buy a tds meter. this crap sure adds up rather quick, i cant imagine how expensive keeping a sw tank used to be...
__________________

__________________
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mounting, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting Legs RISEANDFLOAT Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-14-2007 04:33 PM
Halide mounting chris stevens General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-18-2006 08:04 PM
Mounting Frags Phyl Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 02-16-2005 02:56 PM
mounting the reflector got bait? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-08-2004 08:43 PM
Mounting Montys stresco Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-22-2004 10:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.