Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-19-2007, 10:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 58
Mounting RO/DI

I recently purchased an RO/DI system for my aquarium. I wanted it inside and hooked to my sink but my sink but my faucet will not hook to the unit so I was wondering would it be ok out in my garage and hooked to a hose from outside? I didn't know if the system needs to be in a room temp enviroment or if it matters. Thanks
__________________

__________________
rtoycrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 10:48 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Two questions...have you looked into tapping into the water line that feeds the cold water side of your sink? And, do you have a washing machine inside? There are several ways to tap into the plumbing under the sink if thats where you want the unit. Also, your washer uses a hose bib fitting already. You can put a Y fitting on that and feed the washer off one side and the RO/DI off the other side. I think the optimal working water temp for the RO membrane is about 73*...I could be wrong...memory...age...yeah right Anyway, you could have it outside as long as there is no danger of freezing. Those plastic cylinders will crack easily and one good freeze would trash the whole unit. My advice would be to work out a way to have it indoors. If you're not into plumbing as a hobby, send me some pics of the water supply lines under your sink and I'll try to help you get it worked out.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 11:12 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, you don't want the water to freeze. Most folks in the winter (assuming you live in a place that has freezing weather) will turn off the outside water source, to keep the pipes from freezing....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 11:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 58
Yeah I live in SC so it does get below freezing sometimes. I just built my house so I haven't gotten the chance or the money to buy my own washer/dryer yet so I can't do that. I will try and get some pics from under my sink. Thanks for the help fellas.
__________________
rtoycrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 12:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
quick hijack.....at what rate do the ro/di untis normally dispense water? i hooked mine up yesterday and it is barely trickleing out. at this rate it would take a day or two to fill my resevoir. is it normal for them to flow so slow?
__________________
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 12:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
loyalrogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazilla
quick hijack.....at what rate do the ro/di untis normally dispense water? i hooked mine up yesterday and it is barely trickleing out. at this rate it would take a day or two to fill my resevoir. is it normal for them to flow so slow?
It all depends on what the membrane is rated for in GPD (Gallons Per Day).
Most are somewhere between 50-100 GPD.
Compare that to your normal faucet which is able to push out at least a few thousand GPD, and yes, the RO/DI looks like a trickle.
__________________
"Damsels are the yapping, ankle-biting chihuahuas of the ocean.
They have no concept of just how small and annoying they really are."
loyalrogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 02:28 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Lots of variables affect the rate that your RO/DI unit will process water. Water temp, water pressure, and TDS of the tap water being the primary ones. Tap water TDS (total dissolved solids) doesn't really affect output so much as membrane life. If you don't backflush though, you will notice a drop in flow as the membrane clogs. If you have low water pressure, it's hard to get decent output from an RO membrane because there isn't enough pressure to force the water molecules through the membrane and you get a high rejection rate...lots of waste water. If your water pressure at the sediment filter is less than 50psi, you might consider a booster pump. Also, you might want to consider installing pressure gauges before and after the sediment/carbon filters. A noticeable pressure drop across those filters indicates that they need replacement. Here area couple of pics that may help illustrate what I talking about. The first is an RO unit with a double DI. Note the pressure gauges and the TDS meter...these tell you how your unit is performing. Second is a chloramine filter used for top off on a FW tank...pressure gauges are easier to see here. JMHO.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ro_unit_166.jpg (58.5 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg chloramine_filter_116.jpg (42.2 KB, 19 views)
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 09:00 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I have mine in my tool shed hooked up to the water hose. The colder it is the less water you will get but it will make water. It will just barely trickle out. Mine makes 35 gallons a day but on a cold day I`ll be lucky to get 15 gallons a day.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 01:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
it's rated a 50 gpd, but i have not yet had a chance to test that. work has been driving me crazy and i've been in and out of the house so much that i dont want to let it run unmaned until i get used to it. i would hate to find a leak after i get home 12 hours later. i have mine in the shed as well, but i think im gonna bring it inside and put the res in the tub so i dont have to worry about overflow/leaks.
__________________
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 03:38 PM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I put mine in a rubbermaid tub in the tool shed. A tub should be standard for your Jugs.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mounting, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting Legs RISEANDFLOAT Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-14-2007 04:33 PM
Halide mounting chris stevens General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-18-2006 08:04 PM
Mounting Frags Phyl Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 02-16-2005 02:56 PM
mounting the reflector got bait? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-08-2004 08:43 PM
Mounting Montys stresco Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-22-2004 10:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.