Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-09-2004, 10:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 205
Moving aquairum

I'm thinking about moving my aquarium at home about 5 hours away to where i attend college. I've read a few articles on the subject and am still wondering if you would have to cycle the tank before placing the inhabitants back in the tank.

I have a 20 gallon tank with 20 lbs live rock. I plan on replacing cc with live sand when i move and also replacing with new saltwater... anyone have experience with this?
__________________

__________________
mattmku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 11:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
I don't think you would want to replace all of the saltwater. Then you would have to do a cycle.
__________________

__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 11:09 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
you will likely have another cycle, not so much from replacing the water, but from replacing your substrate. Your Substrate and LR are your primary bio-filter sources. Your LR will be pretty healthy so it should be a short/soft cycle, but completely chaing out your substrate will probably give you a cycle.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 11:12 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
I just had a thought... do you have a sump?

if you do, you can put the sand you plan on using at the new location in the sump for a couple weeks and let the bacteria build up in the sand some. that should minimize the chances of a cycle after the move.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 11:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 205
no sump, i'm running a canister filter. What i think I may do is let my buddy keep my fish and shrimp for a few weeks while i make sure the tank has cycled and then move them up.
__________________
mattmku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
moving

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving to my new home and looking for advice for moving tank sliderfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-30-2009 11:30 PM
Looking to start an aquairum. Probably 30 gallons. Here's what I have so far: lateinningmagic Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 05-25-2009 07:47 PM
Vivid Aquairum Facility Tank2379 Aquaria Off-Topic 2 03-06-2009 07:02 PM
starting plants in my 3 y/o aquairum m-man Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 08-03-2006 02:07 AM
I'm moving jim532 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 06-13-2005 06:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.