Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-17-2013, 12:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
mp10 on a 70 gallon a crazy idea?

This seems like a silly question, but how would a mp10 vortech on a 70 gallon reef work out? It's weird dimensions so it's 5 ft long, but I'd only really need flow to reach half way. I know they're overpowered, but just how much? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 12:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
Posts: 900
Send a message via AIM to Breakthecycle2
I don't think it will be close to enough.
__________________

__________________
Breakthecycle2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 01:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
I would say you need a mp40 I have a 75g and I run two mp40's I like a lot of flow and I keep a lot if sps but one should be good.
__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 01:14 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
Aw, what I expected to hear...Well guess I'll be saving up for a used mp40. I have way too little flow on such a large tank w/ sps.
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 01:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
Yea sps need a lot of flow you can see the flow in my tank in my 75g thread I posted a video of the tank.
__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 01:20 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
Yeah my colors are good, but they grow sooo slow so I'm linking it back mostly to lack of flow. And thanks I'll check it out.
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 01:58 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Yeah definitely need a larger PH. I have two mp10's on my 60 cube (2ft^3) and it's still not enough flow sometimes.
__________________

__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.