Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-20-2015, 02:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Newfoundland.
Posts: 43
Multiple tanks on one sump/refugum

Quick question.

I am about to install a new 125g SW tank, I currently have a 55gal reef tank setup with a 55gal sump/refugum in another room. Wondering if it would be a good idea to connect both tanks to the sump (my return pump can more than handle it) Change the 55 to a predator-tank and have the 125g as a reef tank. Can anyone see any major reasons why this couldn't/shouldn't work??


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
parsons328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 08:20 PM   #2
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,527
I recently asked about this very thing and found out it is doable
this link will bring you to the thread I started asking about this ,
if you scroll down Andy gives the best definition of what needs to be done,
I'll be working on mine next weekend after turkey day ,
2 tanks 1 sump can it be done safely

hope it helps you as it helps me
__________________

__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 09:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Newfoundland.
Posts: 43
Thanks for the link. And enjoy your turkey day. I could go for another one of them right now. Keep me posted on your progress.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
parsons328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 10:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Newfoundland.
Posts: 43
Sorry man. I click on the link and get directed to a post about brackish water and canibal gold fish. ???


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
parsons328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 10:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,248
Tag(hit) 54 profile,then go to threads started.
You find this thread he mentioned.
I'm in if your pump can handle it.
Most chain stores run 'looped' systems.
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/auct...sp&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 02:53 PM   #6
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,527
systems doing that again huh I'll have to report that ,
well yesterday I spent most of the day reconstructing my sump so far I have the 90g hooked up to it, waiting on another overflow so I can add the second using cheap hose till I can find the right size

__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 03:41 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Newfoundland.
Posts: 43
Let me know how you make out. I'm still waiting for my 125gal tank to show up. Been ordered sense September.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
parsons328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 12:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 1,734
I have considered doing the same thing.
My concern/suggestion is to set it up in a manner that allows you to run each tank separately if needed. I was going to actually make a second smaller sump and then plumb them together in a manner that allows me to run each separately if needed.


Is the sump you have glass or acrylic?
if acrylic then plumbing in another sump/container will be easy, if it's glass, not so much.
__________________
PB_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 01:13 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Newfoundland.
Posts: 43
I was going to have a tee off the return then two ball valve unions so I can control/shut off flow to either tank and have bal valve Union at the end of my supply lines to do the same from the over flow boxes.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
parsons328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 04:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by PB_Smith View Post
I have considered doing the same thing.
My concern/suggestion is to set it up in a manner that allows you to run each tank separately if needed. I was going to actually make a second smaller sump and then plumb them together in a manner that allows me to run each separately if needed.


Is the sump you have glass or acrylic?
if acrylic then plumbing in another sump/container will be easy, if it's glass, not so much.
Depending on how much you need to do in the separate tank what we did was have a valve on the water return that can shut the tank off the system, run some sponge filters in the tank at all times so that you have the biological already there if there's no water running and aeration as well. Again, depending on how long you want to keep the tank off the system, this setup allows you time to add an outside filter or other mechanical filtration at a later date. So now, you have the security of having the tanks running if the water pump shuts down and aeration via the sump if the airpump shuts down. The main thing is to make sure your sump can handle the water volume for all the tanks and still hold enough water to not be sucking air into the water pump. ( You don't want to add more water to the sump if this happens so that if the electric goes out, the sump doesn't overflow. ) You want to start the whole system with a full sump then turn on the pump. Where that water level stops falling, THAT'S how much water total can be in the sump at all times when running. ( I use a marker to mark that level so I know to only add water, for evaporation, to that level. "No more or it will be on the floor." ( Little rhyme to remember )

Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
multiple tanks, sump, tan, tank, tanks

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple breeding tanks using one main canister filter Dvanhorn90 DIY Projects 3 08-08-2012 11:49 AM
multiple tanks, 1 sump allenwatts2011 DIY Projects 10 12-20-2011 09:50 PM
Multiple tanks for sump? curt General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 02-11-2010 11:00 PM
Multiple tanks to one sump/refugium? tgeer Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 12-23-2009 10:11 PM
multiple tanks, shared sump mp3z24 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 05-23-2006 04:46 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.