Multiple tanks to one sump/refugium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tgeer

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I would like to install two 90 Gallon tanks to one sump/refugium.
Is this possible and is it a good or bad idea?

With this setup could I still incorporate a top off device in the sump for both tanks?

Is there any advantage/disadvantage to setting up two 90s versus one 150 gallon tank?

I am new at this so thanks for your patience.

Tim

I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. I'd just set up an appropriately large sump to accommodate both tanks.

I'd personally set up 1 large 150gal though. Many large tangs require a 100gal or more, and would be happier in the large tank. Also, you'd have 1 less return pump to buy, less plumbing to fiddle with.

The only bad thing about it is that if there is parasites or disease then all tanks will be affected. Seperate would be better from that standpoint.

Well, if you're new at this, you've got some ambition. I commend you for it.

It is possible with a little creative plumbing. The drains are easy. Just run both drains down to the sump. I'd use one pump for the returns and split the return line with a tee. Put a ball valve on both output sides of the tee to balance the return flow between the tanks.

An ATO system should still work.

Two 90s over One 150g

Pros: More space, the ability to keep two different styles of tanks.

Cons: More complicated plumbing (minor), need to oversize the sump to handle the overflow of two tanks when the power is off.

You'd probably have to keep the tanks close together to work with one sump too. I think balancing the water flow would be difficult if the tanks are on opposite ends of the house.