Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-16-2015, 11:24 PM   #31
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
I like BulkReefSupply's ro/di machines. I have a 5 stage that I was using before my wife moved into my house and took over my kitchen. You can also find them on ebay. They can hook to the sink or get plumbed into the water line to be turned on/off. Make sure you get an inline TDS meter so you can monitor your total dissolved solids and a pressure release so it isn't so hard to take the chambers off to replace the filters and resin.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2015, 10:38 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
I tested my parameters today and I want to know what yall think about them! I don't have a saltwater card to put by them because I'm using a freshwater!
What I think
1 ammonia-1.0
2 nitrates- either 0 or 5.0
3 nitrites-0
4ph 8.0
The ammonia looks super dark in the pic but in person it looks lighter and ph looks red but isnt!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1437183307345.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	275292  
__________________

__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 02:01 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
Went to petco today to look at fish! I found a watchman goby $25 and a firefish $17 I also loved this little damsel fish he was black with a white dot! Are they a good starter fish?! I fell in love with either a puffer or trigger he was a baby ! Maybe one day

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:40 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
This is why I'm a little scared to get anything from my lfs
There was dead arrow crabs floating on top of the water, clown fish laying on the bottom dead, ich, and this!!!!!!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1437694842828.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	275542  
__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 09:06 PM   #35
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
Cyano bacteria? I'll be honest, it can be common in LFS in the systems that are all plumbed together.
If one is careful, it can be managed though. The tomini tang that I have in my tank I watched for a couple of weeks in my LFS. Guy was fat and no signs of disease through the entire time it was there. There was cyano in the tank, but no signs of issue with this fish...though there were in some in other systems. One must be careful with this as if ich is in one tank it is in all of them if the systems are plumbed together.
Doing a proper quarantine can reduce the likelihood of introducing something into your system. I took a gamble and acclimated it right into my display, where it is still a happy fat bugger to this day.
So, moral of the story if you are comfortable with the skills you've perfected over time and have watched a fish for a lengthy period of time...it is possible to pull a fish out of such an environment without issue.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 11:03 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
Yea i don't have a quarantine yet! This one is supposed to be quarantine for my 60g that I haven't started yet! So it makes me nervous I don't want to add nothing bad to it! I would feel more comfortable buying something from a store that tanks looked well maintained and fish looked healthy but this was just bad! It got bad in like a matter of months because every thing looked fine then bam! And my lfs is the only place that sales sw fish in my area! I can drive 2 hours to petco, but that's a long trip!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 03:04 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman View Post
Don't want to do a water change until you are converting 4ppm of ammonia to 0ppm ammonia and 0ppm nitrite. Then nitrates should be high and you do water changes to get them down.
Ok so my ammonia is at 0ppm and my nitrite is 2.0ppm and nitrates is 10.0ppm! It was a big swing since last week or so when I checked it! is everything ok? Should I do anything

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 03:08 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Keep adding an ammonia source till your nitrites drop off. When they hit 0ppm along with ammonia you are cycled.


Caleb
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 03:26 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KKAY27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mississippi GIRL!!
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImACoolguy View Post
Keep adding an ammonia source till your nitrites drop off. When they hit 0ppm along with ammonia you are cycled.


Caleb
Should i add another shrimp? Or get some ammonia in a bottle? I never done that before!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
MiChAeLA
KKAY27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 03:27 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKAY27 View Post
Should i add another shrimp? Or get some ammonia in a bottle? I never done that before!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Either will work. You just need to provide an ammonia source


Caleb
__________________

__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
🐠🐟🐠🐟🐠help me fast bgmann12 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 31 12-18-2014 09:24 PM
Best Nano Fish list🐠🐠🐠🐠🐠🐠 fat clownfish Nano Reefs 5 11-04-2014 10:05 PM
🐠Powerheads for a starter🐠 bgmann12 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 08-04-2014 12:14 AM
Which should I get flame angel or coral beauty?🐠🐟 Nickruiz Member Introductions 2 01-15-2013 09:35 PM
Update on my Biocube 14🐠🐟 RicoNica Nano Reefs 7 11-21-2011 12:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.