Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-19-2005, 04:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 109
My 180 Setup Diagram (pic's) - Input Please

This is my first saltwater setup so I need some INPUT from everyone, suggestions, errors, etc.

Here's a couple photo's of my tank. I just finished building the stand/canopy. -
http://partydamage.com/fishtank/09.jpg
http://partydamage.com/fishtank/05.jpg

I'm going to have approx. 250 lbs of cured live rock to start in the tank.


I can easily make modifications to the image and re-upload over-righting the one you see so we can get this thing perfect.

Still not sure on whats going in the refuge. Will worry about that later. I just wanted to have it as large as possible.
__________________

__________________
1brent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 04:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
flanque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 740
How can you be assured of the water level with the pumps off?
__________________

flanque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 05:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 298
I would think you'd get a lot of stuff from the fuge getting pumped into the main tank with that setup. Maybe you should make the return area of the sump larger, and make the baffle between it a the fuge higher.
__________________
20 20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 05:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanque
How can you be assured of the water level with the pumps off?
I figured Display Tank will continue to drain approximately 3/4 to 1 inch down the overflows once the pumps are shut off "gravity" (the sump has half the surface dimensions of the display tank so it would raise 2"s) then down the pipes adding a little more water. So I'm guessing it would raise 2 to 3 inches.
__________________
1brent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 05:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
flanque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 740
Can you please post some more pictures of your setup?
flanque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 05:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 20
I would think you'd get a lot of stuff from the fuge getting pumped into the main tank with that setup. Maybe you should make the return area of the sump larger, and make the baffle between it a the fuge higher.
If I did that then I'd be afraid of the pump running dry from my lack of attention with adding water as it evaporates. What would be some more options on the refuge return baffle?
__________________
1brent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 05:22 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanque
Can you please post some more pictures of your setup?
What you see is what I have. Under the tank is only an empty 40 gal sump waiting for baffles & there's a new protein skimmer that need hooked up. Once I get the baffles correct and install them I was going to make a trip to HD to start buying the plumbing. The 2 hoses you see on the overflow in the photo are coming off. They were on when I bought it used.
__________________
1brent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 05:28 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
flanque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 740
On your diagram it says external overflow. How does it attach to the aquarium and get the water to overflow into it?
flanque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 05:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanque
On your diagram it says external overflow. How does it attach to the aquarium and get the water to overflow into it?
very similar to the attached doc. Why?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg overflow_196.jpg (29.3 KB, 260 views)
__________________
1brent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 07:48 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 307
i would put the skimmer in some kind of containment, just in case. How will you set up start back up after a power outage? Make sure that you don't loose the syphon.

I also second the bigger baffle in from the sump to the return aeria.

Everything else is looking really good.
__________________
Emancipate yourself from mental slavery,
No one but ourselves can free our minds.
Bob Marley
swissfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 08:05 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by swissfish
I also second the bigger baffle in from the sump to the return aeria.
what should I do?
__________________
1brent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 08:47 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
With that much space in your sump/fuge...I would just put the skimmer in the sump and keep things safer/simpler.

Your diagram doesn't show unions, but make sure that you are able to shut off/disconnect/reconnect every pump from the system for cleaning. (I'm sure you've already thought of that)

If you are making that into a 'fuge, then you might consider making the baffles out of black acrylic to somehow preventing light from going where you don't want algae growing.
__________________
40 Gal Hex, 10 Gal Sump, CPR overflow with Mag 7 return, Maxxima 35 RO/DI, 10K MH pendant, 2 x 15W actinic, 1 yellow tail damsel, 1 high fin goby, 40lbs LR.com rock, 1 red head goby, 1 algae blenny, Leather, blastomussa, sun, and hammer corals, green polyps, carpet anemone, 2 sexy shrimp...and more LR critters than you could imagine in your worst nightmares.... Mantis in 5 gal
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 04:11 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by swissfish
I also second the bigger baffle in from the sump to the return area.
How should I have the return area baffles?? anyone please??
__________________
1brent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 12:12 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 109
I've updated the Diagram Image and decided to put the the PS in the sump and re-route the plumbing a little. INPUT PLEASE. I can't wait to finish this up, if yah know what I mean.

Thanks
__________________
1brent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 10:26 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 298
You need to have the baffle between the fuge and the return pump be the same height as the water line in that new diagram. If you don't, the 'stuff' in your fuge (critters, macro algae, etc) will just flow over to the pump. I know you want a large return area so you have less topping off to do, but I don't think you should have it set up the way you do. Move the baffle to the left some (and make it taller), make the fuge smaller, and make the return area larger.
__________________
20 20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 11:54 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 109
We'll, I bought most of the plumbing last night from Lowes, will start putting everything together tonight, can't wait!!

Think I'll be all right with the 1" width return plumbing to .75" when it T's off behind the tank or should I go larger. The .75 is already built from the previous owner, be nice not to have to redue.

And should I maybe go larger with the 1" over flow plumbing? Maybe on the one side do 1.5" to the wye and then the rest be 1" after the wye. On the other side of the overflow just keep the 1" to help even the flow? What would you do?
__________________

__________________
1brent1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pic, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need input on my current setup solidsnakejv Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-20-2010 09:00 PM
180 Redo, looking for input anthony.grimes DIY Projects 5 08-18-2007 01:02 PM
First time starting up 180 gal (pic's) -LOUD SIPHONING HELP! 1brent1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 12-31-2005 08:02 PM
input wanted on this setup LAGlocker Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 14 12-01-2005 09:45 PM
180 gallon new tank setup dustybrannum Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 07-30-2003 12:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×