Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-28-2012, 02:46 AM   #41
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
I seen on another thread that ur planning on a rke. R u planning on having more than one tank on it? I just don't really know wth else I would do with my rkl. The only thing I might have to debate on in the future is what's more important salinity or net module. Cause I do plan on running ozone. It would be nice if the lite had 5 modules, or 8 outlet power strip, or sl2 had orp, or net was built in.
__________________

__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 10:59 AM   #42
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
Lol. My bad that wasn't u.
__________________

__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:10 AM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAhner View Post
I seen on another thread that ur planning on a rke. R u planning on having more than one tank on it? I just don't really know wth else I would do with my rkl. The only thing I might have to debate on in the future is what's more important salinity or net module. Cause I do plan on running ozone. It would be nice if the lite had 5 modules, or 8 outlet power strip, or sl2 had orp, or net was built in.

I am hoping to use my RKE with 2 tanks. So far the unit is really easy to work with and with a couple extra modules i think i could have it control another tank. Thats my plan anyways. lol It might be cheaper to just buy an RKL for the second tank, I'll have to see.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 12:20 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
I couldn't imagine it being cheaper. Maybe more convenient to have another head unit. And easier to install if you have to run like a hundred foot rj12.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 12:46 AM   #45
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
just throwing this out there.

i have ordered a tlf 150 phosban reactor. and a lb of bulk gfo. since then i have been reading some neat little things about the biopellets. i have already pulled my dsb in my fuge. i thought it was funny when i did a search on here for biopellets to see what everyone is doing with them, i found carey's thread. i pulled my dsb for the same reason she was/is thinking of doing the same thing.( to clarify. she was asking about removing her refugium and putting a skimmer there then running biopellets too) i dont see many pods in my fuge, my macro doesnt seem to be doing anything. so it may be on its way out too.

anyway im thinking once i see how the gfo works for me i may switch to the pellets when i run out of gfo. if you want to ask me why, here is the answer to that. i have been fighting slime algae for a while now. i have tried the water changes with the reduced feeding to once a day then to once every other when that didnt work. and i have tried chimiclean. pulling the dsb in my fuge helped some. blew my mind how much that did help. maybe my grain size (aragonite seafloor special grade select?) was too large for a dsb and wasnt doing anything for me.
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 12:55 AM   #46
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Kinda nice to know i'm not alone with my experience with a refugium. lol

let me know when you go biopellets cause I probably wont get a chance to get a reactor til end of next month and I'd love to know if that works.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 01:06 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
you are not alone.

ive still got to get my phosban reactor, i ordered it friday. and then ive got to work though a lb of media. ha, between the two of us, you will be the one running pellets first. i will post it here when/if i switch to pellets. be sure to drop a line when, when you get yours up and running please and thank you!
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 01:21 AM   #48
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I think you should give the algae a chance before buying more components. I also think you should just relax, put the test kits down, and enjoy your reef.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 01:30 AM   #49
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
I'm probably going to pull my dsb from the display and put in the sump. The only problem I have with it is I really want to be able to vacuum the display better and not worry about disturbing the sand bed. And I also plan to run biopellets. It's just a lot of bang for the buck. Lower nitrate, lower phosphates, maybe a little food for the corals, and you only add them about every six months. That's what's up.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 01:31 AM   #50
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
thank you mr_x, and i want to get to that point of enjoying it. until this slime, that has over run my tank, is gone or maybe just isolated to my sump i have been apprehensive about adding any corals. i want to say ive been running the macro for 2? months now with no detectable growth.
__________________

__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
40 gallon, breed, breeder

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 gallon cycle log (& questions galore) Vol4Ever Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 111 11-07-2011 05:50 PM
10 Gallon Salt Water Questions brock029 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-31-2011 11:42 AM
Lighting for 40 gallon breeder segrayson Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 10-30-2011 05:51 PM
55 gallon aquarium set up questions zacheyp Saltwater Reef Aquaria 18 09-26-2011 12:27 AM
Just got a 55 gallon tank & have some questions shamu Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 09-22-2011 09:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.