Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-07-2011, 11:24 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
You're not gonna see a spike in all three at once, more than likely you will see a spike in ammonia, then later on a spike in trates. Don't worry about any mistakes you make we all do it. Best thing you can do is learn and ask questions..it'll save your fish a lot of stress now in terms of cycling, you could remove the inverts and put them in a separate container while you cycle (as I previously mentioned) and if you have enough room, the same for the damsels. Upside to this is you'll avoid putting your waterfriends through any cycling spikes, downside is its a couple seperate containers and a lil more physical labor. Orrr you could simply nurse the tank as a whole through cycling, this would entail obsessvie parameter testing and more than frequent pwc's ......I would suggest removing them to cycle but if you can't, go the second route
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 11:45 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Philippines
Posts: 111
Send a message via Skype™ to amosora
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHARPiE
You're definitley heading in the right direction!
Chin up and keep strong, ask plenty of questions!
Thanks for uplifting my spirit anyways, i'm still positive that we (fishes, inverts, & i) can make it through without casualty. Coz i can't take that they will soon be soo shocked due to cycling. As of now, whenever they see me, they jump out of their caves to meet me xcept for the nassarius & turbo lol
__________________

__________________
jenamo
amosora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 11:49 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Philippines
Posts: 111
Send a message via Skype™ to amosora
Quote:
Originally Posted by negligent_inmate
You're not gonna see a spike in all three at once, more than likely you will see a spike in ammonia, then later on a spike in trates. Don't worry about any mistakes you make we all do it. Best thing you can do is learn and ask questions..it'll save your fish a lot of stress now in terms of cycling, you could remove the inverts and put them in a separate container while you cycle (as I previously mentioned) and if you have enough room, the same for the damsels. Upside to this is you'll avoid putting your waterfriends through any cycling spikes, downside is its a couple seperate containers and a lil more physical labor. Orrr you could simply nurse the tank as a whole through cycling, this would entail obsessvie parameter testing and more than frequent pwc's ......I would suggest removing them to cycle but if you can't, go the second route
Mmmmm.... This is a good suggestion. Is it not nessesary that the QT be cycled also?
If so, I try to catch them. But if they don't want, i'll nurse thier tank very diligently.
__________________
jenamo
amosora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 12:03 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
If you split them up, and only if you can. Because other than the damsels, the inverts and such don't have but a tiny bio-load, therefore it shouldn't start a cycle in a qt. Once main tank is cycled, you can then acclimate and add everyone back in
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 12:25 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
Yikes, sorry inmate, looking back I think my posts may have beed a tad rude. What test kit are you using? If the tank has been set up that long with damsels in there for the majority of the time, you should be seeing something such as nitrates at the very least. Anyone else think so?
__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 12:30 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SHARPiE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 492
Send a message via MSN to SHARPiE


You should be seeing some nitrates if you have live rock in there. My cycle with live rock only took a week... Others have experienced 2+ month cycles.

I had a bit of die off when I first added my rock in and only saw trace amounts of ammonia and nitrite and then they were gone and replaced with nitrates.
__________________
20 Gal - Planted CO2 Community Tank
4.5 Gal - Planted Shrimp Tank - in progress

Useful Acronyms
SHARPiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 01:00 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ReefPhan_Harpua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricksreef

How much live rock did you put in?
It is entirely possible that if you have one and a half to two lbs. of rock and some of it was live to start with you avoided the cycle if you had all your equipment circulating and filtering the water.Many people will disagree but my 75 gallon was set up that way with deep sand bed with a little seeded sand and 130 lbs of base rock and 35 live rock.Ran all equipment for three weeks with no lights and then one week with lights.It does work.I would just add a couple corals and fish and keep a check a few days to be sure.
Same here. Been doing it that way for years and never had a problem. I'd never heard of the dead shrimp method until I joined these forums. I guess I haven't heard of a lot of things though. Just one of those things that makes me go...huh?
__________________
ReefPhan_Harpua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 01:07 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Philippines
Posts: 111
Send a message via Skype™ to amosora
Quote:
Originally Posted by thominil
Yikes, sorry inmate, looking back I think my posts may have beed a tad rude. What test kit are you using? If the tank has been set up that long with damsels in there for the majority of the time, you should be seeing something such as nitrates at the very least. Anyone else think so?
Using Api marine test kit. I'll post a pic of my test tomorrow. I
__________________
jenamo
amosora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 01:11 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Philippines
Posts: 111
Send a message via Skype™ to amosora
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHARPiE


You should be seeing some nitrates if you have live rock in there. My cycle with live rock only took a week... Others have experienced 2+ month cycles.

I had a bit of die off when I first added my rock in and only saw trace amounts of ammonia and nitrite and then they were gone and replaced with nitrates.
Yap that part i know i should be seing nitrate atleast but there was none as in 0. Now i'm growing small plants not moss or algae but plants. Such a weird start.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1886592510.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	61.2 KB
ID:	43059  
__________________
jenamo
amosora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 01:39 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SHARPiE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 492
Send a message via MSN to SHARPiE
The sign of algae means there is nitrate in there for them to feed off. There may only be traces of nitrates but they aren't appearing on your test as the aglae consumes it before it's present.
__________________

__________________
20 Gal - Planted CO2 Community Tank
4.5 Gal - Planted Shrimp Tank - in progress

Useful Acronyms
SHARPiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.