Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-17-2011, 09:23 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ausfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
The easiest if you are not an electrician is to buy blue led strips off eBay. It will tell you how many volts they run on, then find an old phone charger with the right voltage and solder it on.
__________________

__________________
___________________________________
my 30g reef with refugium
Ausfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 09:42 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
I don't know how to solder . What voltage would it have to be?
__________________

__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 04:12 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ausfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Again, depends on the led's. You might need a resistor to limit current but that gets a bit too complicated I guess. Have a look on eBay, they might sell them including power supply. Otherwise your local fish shop might be able to help? I'd pop over and do it for you but I live in Sydney
__________________
___________________________________
my 30g reef with refugium
Ausfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 10:49 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
I found some things made up on eBay last night (come from HK so would take WEEEKS to get here). But says it's only 12V. Would these work? I'm so worried about too much lighting causing algae problems.
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 10:52 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...id=45488817133
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 11:16 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Ok. Can someone help identify this???

Attachment 52290

I noticed it during a PWC and cleaning today. Only way I can really explain it is they almost look like little cotton balls with some diatom bloom on them. Do I need to add to my clean up crew? Do I need to leave it alone? Please help!!!
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 12:03 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Don't know if it helps or not... But here's my water parameters

Ph- 8.0 (treated to raise it today)
Ammonia- 0.25ppm (went up from new fish yesterday?)
Nitrates- 0
Nitrites-0
Salinity - 1.0247 (ish- used hydrometer and gonna add more rodi later today- sale 40 cents a gallon woohoo!)
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 01:59 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Found out today that my tank isn't normal. Lmao. I was told it's a show tank. Usual 90 gal tanks are not 60 inches long. Oh well. Guess I got a better deal? Or does this put limitations on my tank possibilties? Pros? Cons?
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:24 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ausfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
I usually prefer shallower and longer tanks to the really high ones. Gives the fish more swimming space and you need less expensive lighting, both in purchase and running cost.
__________________
___________________________________
my 30g reef with refugium
Ausfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 09:13 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Ok. That's good. But then will the LED's I just ordered be too much?
__________________

__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reef, reef tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to forum and very frustrated with my tank! MaraLSky Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 09-04-2011 11:30 PM
Getting back into Reef Keeping with my Husband of 2 months! littleangel_dawn Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 08-21-2011 01:24 AM
Should I be adding any of these to my reef tank Rscomia Saltwater Reef Aquaria 36 08-11-2011 06:29 PM
Reef Tank - What do I need to test for? francis Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-09-2011 09:33 PM
QUESTION: What is the best tank size for a small tank set-up ? SusanZ General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-16-2011 10:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.