Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-20-2010, 07:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
My tank ready??

This is what my nitrite readings have looked like for about 2 weeks or so. For nitrite to be 0 on my test kit, it has to be yellow. The liquid in the vial is yellow, but kinda a darker yellow, kinda gold. Is this zero? Like I said it has not dropped anymore and ammonia reads 0 as well. Can i finally add fish? I had to take the pic off to the side because of the flash.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2447.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	140.3 KB
ID:	24203  
__________________

__________________
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 07:43 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANLAWRENCE View Post
This is what my nitrite readings have looked like for about 2 weeks or so. For nitrite to be 0 on my test kit, it has to be yellow. The liquid in the vial is yellow, but kinda a darker yellow, kinda gold. Is this zero? Like I said it has not dropped anymore and ammonia reads 0 as well. Can i finally add fish? I had to take the pic off to the side because of the flash.
You should take a reading for Nitrate first just to make sure you did get a cycle. How high was your ammonia and nitite at one point?
__________________

__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 07:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
My test kit doesnt have nitrate but the lfs tested it and said i did have nitrates i cant remember what concentration he said though. Ammonia at one point got to 1.5mg/l and nitrite got to .8mg/l at one point. Ammonia dropped quickly to 0 but the nitrite has been hanging around for a while till about two weeks ago. I did a light feeding and let the food break down and saw no increase in ammonia or nitrite so i think im good. What do you think/
__________________
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 07:55 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANLAWRENCE View Post
My test kit doesnt have nitrate but the lfs tested it and said i did have nitrates i cant remember what concentration he said though. Ammonia at one point got to 1.5mg/l and nitrite got to .8mg/l at one point. Ammonia dropped quickly to 0 but the nitrite has been hanging around for a while till about two weeks ago. I did a light feeding and let the food break down and saw no increase in ammonia or nitrite so i think im good. What do you think/
You are probably good to go. Just add fish slowly.
__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 08:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
alright sounds good thanks for your help. If i added two occelaris clowns at the same time would that be too much for the first time?
__________________
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 10:28 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANLAWRENCE View Post
alright sounds good thanks for your help. If i added two occelaris clowns at the same time would that be too much for the first time?
Thats funny, I was actually going to suggest adding 2-clownfish but I didn't because I don't know what size tank you have. But, I'm sure its big enough for 2-clowns. What size tank and how much Live Rock?
__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 10:55 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
how old is the test kit? they can go bad over 6-8 months. Either way, you are probably fine, but you should definitely have all three test kits when you are first starting out. Its better to just spend the money on all the kits rather then having a problem go unseen and destroy your tank. Its one of those things we all hate doing, but ya gotta.
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 11:06 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
yeah when i bought it i could have sworn the box said nitrate on it too but i guess not. I guess i have to shell out another 35 dollars. And the tank is 40 gallons with about 35 lbs of live rock
__________________
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 11:53 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANLAWRENCE View Post
yeah when i bought it i could have sworn the box said nitrate on it too but i guess not. I guess i have to shell out another 35 dollars. And the tank is 40 gallons with about 35 lbs of live rock
I still say go for it, just do a partial water change before you add your fish. You are testing 0-for Ammonia and 0-Nitrite and you said your LFS tested that you have some Nitrate... It sounds like you are cycled. Add one or two small Ocellaris Clowns. You should look into getting a Nitrate kit, you don't need to spend $35 on one, just find one of these:
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Freshwater/Saltwater Nitrate Test Kit, Test kit of 90 tests
__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 12:09 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
holy crap, they charge you 35 dollars!? The most i have ever paid for a test kit is around 30 for a magnesium. I would switch LFS.
__________________

__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my tank ready? No_Name Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 22 06-23-2010 03:00 AM
My tank is ready Johnny Cakes Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 06-25-2006 09:33 AM
Tank is almost ready! kcoatney Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 05-19-2006 12:08 PM
30-40 gallon tank or hole setup wanted?Or any ref ready tank Dewey Midwest & the Dakotas 2 03-13-2005 10:12 PM
Is my tank ready? cconemanband Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 8 11-18-2004 03:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.