Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-23-2015, 12:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Brennan32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 134
Necessary to cycle tank?

So recently i got a 155 gallon bow front tank that was set up with saltwater fish. So i got all the equipment and some of the guys water and substrate(which i cleaned) also it has 200 pounds of established live rock so i'm wondering if it needs to cycle or if the cycle is not needed


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Brennan32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 11:23 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Reefing Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 577
If the rock is cured, if he's had it in his tank all this time, and it did not dry out when you moved everything, no your tank will not cycle. Its already got the needed bacteria to support life.
__________________

__________________
Reefing Madness Tank Pics
Reefing Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 11:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Brennan32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefing Madness View Post
If the rock is cured, if he's had it in his tank all this time, and it did not dry out when you moved everything, no your tank will not cycle. Its already got the needed bacteria to support life.

Ok he said he had the tank up for 13 years and the live rock was packed into styrofoam coolers with wet paper inside to keep them from drying out


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Brennan32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 01:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
If you really want to be sure, you can purchase ammonia and dose to 3ppm. If it goes to zero within 24hrs, you are cycled. I've heard that Ace Hardware usually sells it. So does Dr. Tim's.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 02:19 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
It would really depend on how long it has been in the cooler. Even with wet newspaper on top it will lose some of the nitrifying bacteria and esp. the longer it sits. You might need to test as Todd says.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 04:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Brennan32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
It would really depend on how long it has been in the cooler. Even with wet newspaper on top it will lose some of the nitrifying bacteria and esp. the longer it sits. You might need to test as Todd says.

Ok so as long as my ammonia is good then i can put my clown fish into the tank?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Brennan32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 05:22 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
If your ammonia goes down quickly after dosing, it shows you have a good bacteria colony going. Ammonia is very bad for fish, so you need that bacteria to chance it to Nitrite (not good, but not nearly as deadly as ammonia) and Nitrate (not great for fish in high levels, but not deadly at low levels).


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 06:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Brennan32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodd View Post
If your ammonia goes down quickly after dosing, it shows you have a good bacteria colony going. Ammonia is very bad for fish, so you need that bacteria to chance it to Nitrite (not good, but not nearly as deadly as ammonia) and Nitrate (not great for fish in high levels, but not deadly at low levels).

Ok so i just did some tests and my nitrate is at 0 and my nitrite is at zero and my ammonia is at about 0.5

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice




Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Brennan32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 07:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Reefing Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 577
There won't be any need to dose ammonia, as there will be some die off from the live rock, theres no way it was totally kept from drying out in spots. Those spots will have die off, and will create ammonia, you will have some of a cycle, all depends on how severe the dead spots are.
__________________
Reefing Madness Tank Pics
Reefing Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 08:30 PM   #10
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,534
Depending on how long the rock has been in the coolers with damp paper I would bet on die off and cause having at least a mini cycle,
I would suggest new sand
__________________

__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Small tank:Huge filter...is fishless cycling absolutely necessary? Stickleback Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 33 08-17-2010 03:53 PM
Are sumps absolutely necessary for a reef tank? fishygurl Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 07-30-2007 08:49 AM
Skimmer necessary for FOWLR tank? weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 10-31-2006 10:26 AM
Is it necessary to use the filter extension on tall tank? dmac Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 06-16-2006 10:54 PM
Is pure ammonia necessary if fish aren't in the tank? An t-iasg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-13-2003 02:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.