Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-27-2013, 05:50 PM   #281
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Yes you should dose, I try to keep the ammo level as close to zero as i can That alone will stress your stock a lot Burns there gills making it harder for them to breathe
__________________

__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 01:32 PM   #282
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Callen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 307
My anemone won't stay put!


My DT has been lying fallow while I moved my fish into QT to treat ich. All have died except one blue devil damsel

Anyway, the DT is so beautiful and looks empty with OT my red starfish and two turbo snails. My lazy hermit crabs are nothing more than decoration at this point! Over the weekend I purchased a sebae anemone and a tuxedo urchin. I thought the anemone had found a happy place, but it moves every 2 days or so. Actually it isn't moving, but appears to have let go of its rock and the water flow has moved it to another spot in the tank. It ends up in the same place every time and isn't attached to anything there. Ill reach in and rescue it and place it back on a rock where it will attach and stay for a while. I've put it in a different place each time, hoping to find something it will like.

I've fed it once with a turkey baster ( cool to watch) and I'm putting microvert in the water. It appears healthy, just won't stay put.

Any suggestions for a good location?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3695555460.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	193.5 KB
ID:	199982  
__________________

__________________
Callen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 01:48 PM   #283
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
Well they like good flow and your levels have to be on point how long have your tank been running now ?
__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:59 PM   #284
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Tank is way too new to be adding anemone(s) barely 3 months since you started your cycle. You need to wait another 9 months. You should take it back. The fact that it is actually disconnecting from your rock to float away means it isn't happy at all and will probably die. Slightly unhappy they will move around manually not attempt to float away.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 05:31 PM   #285
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
+1...9-12 months before adding anemones is a pretty standard rule.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 12:30 AM   #286
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Callen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 307
Well, shoot! Not sure if the store will take it back, but I will look into it. I went in for some corals and they told me my tank hadn't been running long enough for them. Funny they didn't say the same for the anemone.

For the sake of learning more myself, and hopefully letting a few others learn from my mistakes, can y'all tell me a little about why 9-12 months is the norm? After the initial cycle, what happens in the tank over time to make it "mature?"
__________________
Callen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 12:42 AM   #287
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
Tanks continue to cycle throughout their lives, it's how they process organic wastes. The first cycle a tank does is extreme usually and why having livestock present isn't a good idea. The cycles then even out and the peaks flatten out. To fully "mature" a tank to reef quality and stabilize it takes a bit of time. I don't think you can hurry the process. I tend to equate it to gardening, where you prepare the soil a long time in advance for certain crops. Maybe a bad analogy but this seasoning process seems real and most folks adhere to it.

Fish stores are in a hurry to stock you up. If you want to be really successful at this, be patient and select your livestock purposefully rather than a quick decision at the LFS. But that's almost impossible to do! So at least carry a smart phone with LiveAquaria.com running on it and use their guidelines. Better than guessing.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 02:44 AM   #288
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
I would consider finding another lfs if you can. They gave you bad info in all regards. Anemones need more time but you can stock some easy corals pretty early.

If it's not a small lfs ask to speak to a manager. You were given bad advice and they should take back the anemone with a full refund.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:04 PM   #289
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Callen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 307
What about power outages?

Thunderstorm just came through and we lost power for about an hour. One of the boys asked if the fish and inverts would be ok, which got me to thinking: How long can a tank go without circulation?
__________________
Callen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 12:33 AM   #290
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
You need to get oxygen in the tank. If you don't have backup power then you can take a clean pitcher or other container and dip it in the tank to fill it and then raise it above the tank and poor the contents back in. There were a couple of threads on here in the past week discussing power outage options
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.