Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 06-15-2003, 06:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Need advice on new tank set up and maintenance

Hello group. We are getting ready to purchase a saltwater reef tank and need advice.

We are going with a 72" long tank either 125 or 180 gallons. I am in the pond business so I have some general knowledge although I want to make sure that we buy the right equipment the first time and not just what the sales person says we need.

I have seen maintenance costs to have someone come out and I want to make sure that I can do it my self to avoid the costs weekly or monthly. I have heard about pieces of equipment that will cut down on water changes and filters that do not need to be cleaned often also is a UVC a bad thing or a good thing with corals? I have spoken to a few of the stores that we sell to and I get mixed advice.

Are there electronic devices to keep the testing and administering of chemicals under control?

All advice is welcome and I appreciate the assistance in advance.

jolieinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 07:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Send a message via MSN to alrmc4