Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-23-2007, 06:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Need advice on setting up a refugium

I just bought a CPR HOB refugium (small) and the light for it... I already have some macro algae, and wonder what else should i put innto this refugium... Mud, bioslab, and suggestions??? i am new to the refugium idea - read some articles on it, got this one off of ebay with the light, and 2 acrylic tanks and a sump(20gal) all for $60.00... Figured the price was right and i think its a good idea - just not sure where to go with it... I am rambling, so please offer advice. Thanks,

Old 11-24-2007, 01:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

i would throw in a somewhat deep sand bed (a few inches), some of the macro, and a hermit crab. keep in mind that you will want LOW flow running through it, the lower the better. this will give the macro time to clear the nutrients from the water a little better. and the sand bed with also help with nutrient export.

lReef lKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 01:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

so you would say sand, not the muds that i have seen? Any hermit crab, or a specific type? Also, any snails or just keep those in the tank?
Old 11-24-2007, 01:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular

i would use sand, but i dont really know a whole lot about the miracle mud or any other type of mud systems. i would look for a couple of nassarius snails to sift the sand in the fuge, and maybe something like one or two red leg hermits for detritius removal.
Old 11-24-2007, 09:51 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award