Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-10-2009, 07:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
sweetshannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 84
Send a message via AIM to sweetshannon
need an overflow?

Hi again! I am still shopping for a new tank. My question is...should I look for drilled or aquariums with an overflow? Is this the best tank for reef? I am aiming for a 40 to 50 gallon.
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
sweetshannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
You can either find one that's drilled or get a hang on back overflow. Either one will work, but drilled is the better way to go if its possible.
__________________

__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:23 PM   #3
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Yes. If you get a tank the is reef ready, it will be pre-drilled, which then means you can install an overflow system on it. But remember that you dont always need an aquarium that is acrylic or special glass to make an overflow system. They have such things called overflow boxes which hang on the back of the tank and act as an overflow system. They are great for tanks in which you cant drill. Tanks that are tempered glass cant be drilled, so if you want to drill the tank, then watch out for tempered glass aquariums. But like i said, if your looking for a tank that is overflow capable, then you would be looking for "reef ready" tanks.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:27 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
sweetshannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 84
Send a message via AIM to sweetshannon
Oh....Because with my freshwater tank, I never needed an overlow or a sump. Is this the best way to go? Will it make for easier or better filtration? I am wondering if it is necessary. I am looking at Oceanic tanks with overflows, and wondering i this is a wise purchase? Or will I be just as well off without that.
__________________
sweetshannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
The sump is for increasing water volume and hiding equipment. I say they are better than any other kind of filter. You can go and buy an expensive pre-drilled tank new, with everything ready to go. or you could buy a basic tank and drill it yourself. Just make sure its not tempered.

Edit: A lot of people say the hang on back overflows will lose siphon in case of power outage. As long as you are using a pump that has enough flow to keep the bubbles from accumulating, you should be totally fine. Also its important to make sure the outer box is level. If you do go for the hang on back type, I recommend Eshopps simply because they make a solid product.
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
sweetshannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 84
Send a message via AIM to sweetshannon
thanks so much! I think I will just buy the tank with the overflow. Is an overflow tank the same as a drilled tank? Do they do the same thing? I will looking at this....

http://www.oceanicsystems.com/products/tech-series.php
__________________
sweetshannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:56 PM   #7
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Yeah, also, using sumps means for better water quality because now you have more water flowing through the tank. Also, to hide equipment like partypalooza said, also, you can control the water in the tank which mean, the water in the main tank will never go down, it will in the sump. So you can just do your water top-offs and water changes all in the sump. It just makes life alot easier. It is not necessary, but is recommended in most situations.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 08:01 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
sweetshannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 84
Send a message via AIM to sweetshannon
thanks so much!
__________________
sweetshannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 08:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Quote:
Originally Posted by linksyz View Post
Yeah, also, using sumps means for better water quality because now you have more water flowing through the tank. Also, to hide equipment like partypalooza said, also, you can control the water in the tank which mean, the water in the main tank will never go down, it will in the sump. So you can just do your water top-offs and water changes all in the sump. It just makes life alot easier. It is not necessary, but is recommended in most situations.
Adding to that, you don't have to go and buy a commercially made sump, you could always make your own.
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 08:07 PM   #10
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Oh yeah. DIY for the win! Sumps are pretty easy to make as well. All you need is a good sized rubbermaid bucket depending on the size of your main tank, and then a couple of plexiglass or acrylic baffles. And you've got yourself a DIY sump! Actually, i would say that DIY sumps are the easiest DIY's out there for SW. Anyone agree?
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got the Overflow InfernoST DIY Projects 11 11-02-2009 08:28 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
best overflow to use?? brett7768 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 01-12-2006 11:59 AM
Need Overflow? gzejer Midwest & the Dakotas 10 12-19-2003 01:19 PM
Is this enough overflow? kidafius Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-20-2003 01:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.