Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-22-2012, 03:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Need Help... First Time Setting up 30 gallon Reef Tank

hi i need help,advice,assistance to set up my 30 gallon reef tank.. im new to saltwater pls give me some advice on what equipment to get to have a nice reef tank.. but off course im on a budget.. and since im new to reef tank i just want to put the easiest to take care corals and fish... pls pls pls need help!!..

Old 10-22-2012, 06:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Do you have any particular questions? Hard to help you if we don't know what you already know. Is tank set up? Cycling? There are articles about cycling on this forum. We really need you to ask whatever you're needing help with, and we'll be happy to help.

Old 10-22-2012, 06:27 PM   #3

im not cycling yet.. lets start with filtration... sump or canister??.. and what media to use..
Old 10-22-2012, 06:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

If you have room for a sump, I hear its easier maintenance than canister. I don't have room for a sump I my corner cabinet, so have a Fluval 406 canister on my 55g. If you do a filter, you'll want one rated for double the size of your tank.
Old 10-22-2012, 06:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Go with a sump if possible. Many more options for you and increases your water volume. Also drill your tank if you can now before you regret not doing it later
Old 10-22-2012, 06:55 PM   #6

i really want a sump since alot of you said its better.. but like i said before im on a budget.. im going with canister since i have a extra fluval 405.. what media to use??
Old 10-22-2012, 08:30 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymax