Need help picking out equipment and what not!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Exarkun

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Well I have decided its time for me to start my first SW tank. I am a newb with this stuff but I have been doing a lot of reading for the past few months. I think I am ready to set up and maintain a system.

I've decided to go with a 30 gal for economic reasons. (read "I couldn't convince the wife to let me get a 50" :( ) I know this isn't the best setup for a beginner but I'm going to give it a go. I plan to upgrade to a larger system in the distance future using this 30 gal as a sump. The dimensions are 36"x12"x18" I believe. I'm also getting a matching stand with storage space underneath.

I plan on starting off with a FOWLR system and down the road start adding some corals, a clam or 2, and possibly an anemone. What are some good reef safe fish to go with? I don't think a Tang would fit, and the only other fish I have my heart set on is a Clown.

Would this lamp fixture be a good start?

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Product/Prod_Display.cfm?pcatid=12772&N=2004+113175

The guy at the lfs said 110 watts would be enough for some low light corals and this one is 156 watts giving me 5.2 wpg.

I'm thinking of going with 50 pounds of uncured lr. How much sand would I need and where should I get it? Also I have heard horror stories about curing your own LR, and the odors it gives off while curing. The curing would be taking place in my living room. Would I be better off getting 50/50 base/lr? Prices around here are rather high.

What protein skimmer would you recommend for around 80 bucks?

What heater would you recommend?

Any type of ph better than the other?

I appreciate any input you guys can give me. My head is swimming with all the options out there! Thanks!

WELCOME TO THE SW SIDE!!!!