Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-24-2011, 01:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Amicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 822
Need help quick!

Am in need of help. I need to know if a saltwater aquarium needs an anaerobic layer and if so what can I use?
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
The lesser of two evils is still an evil.
Amicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 01:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
no. it does not need that, but you can use live rock for this purpose.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 01:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Amicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 822
It is a 24 g nano. I figured that with the live rock I can use all the elements I can. Also I have a little more than 1.5lbs of aragonite per gallon.
__________________
The lesser of two evils is still an evil.
Amicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 01:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i'm not following you. you have live rock and a sand bed. you are ok. no need for anything else.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 02:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Amicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 822
I am new to saltwater, a buddy in the hobby suggested that I create an anaerobic layer and that I can use plain clay to create the layer. If I don't need one I am ok with that. I am using live rock in the tank and ceramic noodles, coarse filters and then live rr in the middle section. I want to gradually create a little reef.
__________________
The lesser of two evils is still an evil.
Amicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 02:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
don't use any clay. you can get rid of the ceramic rings and filter media as well. either that or rinse them out regularly (weekly), or they will be a detritus collection spot and a source of nitrate.
the live rock has anaerobic areas in it. if you wanted more, you could just use a deeper sand bed (4" or more is recommended).
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 02:12 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Amicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 822
Cool, so the lrr should be enough in the middle reservoir?
__________________
The lesser of two evils is still an evil.
Amicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 02:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Amicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 822
Should I create a deeper sand bed? I figure I'll have maybe 2.5" of sand bed.
__________________
The lesser of two evils is still an evil.
Amicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 09:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
if you want anaerobic zones in the sand bed i would go with 4".
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 11:47 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Amicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 822
Thank for the advice.
__________________

__________________
The lesser of two evils is still an evil.
Amicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Long to use Quick Cure for? mikeybabs Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 03-29-2014 06:35 PM
Just a quick question with PWC'S and testing Helloelliee Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 09-14-2011 11:29 PM
HELP!!! respond quick i need help bettamax Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 3 08-04-2011 12:54 PM
A quick memorial thread mr.waffles1842 Aquaria Off-Topic 11 08-03-2011 03:12 PM
Quick q Flossie Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 07-08-2011 09:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.