Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-07-2003, 02:22 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Corona, California
Posts: 59
Send a message via Yahoo to Stephanie
Need help with ammonia problems.

Hello. I just set up a 55 gallon fish only tank. I moved everything from my 20 gallon into the 55, and added 35 gallons of new water and some more live sand. I did this on Wednesday night. Since then, the ammonia has been rising. It was at .25 on Wednesday, 1.0 on Friday, and it jumped all the way to 4.0 today. Why could this be happening? There are no dead fish, I haven't changed anything, and I have the protein skimmer running just as before. The nitrites are very low and nitrates are lower than before we switched everything. The ammonia is the only problem.

Also, what can I do besides water changes to control the problem? I have been adding Ammolock and "Cycle," but I was wondering if there is a way to actually get rid of the ammonia that I don't know about. I'm still learning about water chemistry so please be kind

Thanks!

Steph
__________________

__________________
Stephanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 02:49 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: san jose, CA
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to sokhamik
i think that turning on your protein skimmer during cycling is only going to slow the process down... if you're a patient person, i think you should remove the fishes and do a fishless cycle like everyone recommends..
__________________

__________________
sokhamik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 03:42 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Corona, California
Posts: 59
Send a message via Yahoo to Stephanie
But isn't it already cycled? fishfreek told me that if I moved everything from the existing 20 gallon into the 55 gallon, the tank would already be cycled.
__________________
Stephanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 08:13 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to Barney
did you change filters?

If it is the same, then your filter is working to maximixe, meaning grow.

If it is not the same filter , then it is starting over.

Stay away from chemicals as much as possible. Try to keep changing some water to help lower the ammonia.
Be cautious, that adding chemicals will affect your water test results.
__________________
Barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 06:11 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: san jose, CA
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to sokhamik
doesn't changing water slow down the cycle also?.. i switched my 55g setup to a 95g setup.. the 55g was already cylced before i did so.. my 95g still needed time to adjust.. basically it was trying to "recycle"...
__________________
sokhamik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 09:57 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to Barney
to some yes it will slow down the cycle but not much. if there is fish present, you do want to change water to bring down the high level of harmful concentration.
If no fish , leave it alone and it will cycle completely. It also depends on your filter capabilities.
__________________
Barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 12:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 284
Re: Need help with ammonia problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephanie
I have been adding Ammolock and "Cycle,"

Isn't this "Cycle" product nothing more than ammonia to help feed the good bacteria??
__________________
cal91666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 12:25 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Cycle is supposed to be 'bottled bactera'. I really question its effectivness given that bactera needs food and oxygen to live. It can get food from other bactera in the bottle dieing off but i wonder where it gets the oxygen at since the bottle is sealed.

The older the bottle the less effective its going to be in my book.

ammolock will convert your ammonia to a non toxic form but on MANY test kits your water will still test positive for ammonia.

I would do a 20% water change every few days for a week and discontinue the use of ammolock. This way you can slowly remove that product from your water and at the same time you should see your ammonia drop.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 10:18 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Corona, California
Posts: 59
Send a message via Yahoo to Stephanie
Thank you for the advice. I will continue to do water changes although I'm confused as to why I'm having such a problem. I only have two false perculas, a blenny and a cleaner shrimp in a 55 gallon tank. The previous 20 gallon had been set up for over two years and I used all of the water from that. Last night my ammonia level jumped to 8.0, and that was after a water change a day before. I'll keep changing it though (what a pain!) and hopefully it will stabalize soon.

~Steph
P.S. Why should I remove Ammolock from the water?
P.S.S. Cycle claims that the bacteria are dormant in the bottle and stay that way until the conditions are right (when you put them in the aquarium.)
__________________
"The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its
animals are treated."

- Mohandas Gandhi
Stephanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 10:27 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
If your test kit does not differenate between 'free' ammonia and 'total' ammonia then constatly adding ammolock is going to keep giving you a FALSE positive reading for ammonia.

This is because ammolock just converts toxic ammonia over to non toxic form.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia problems confusion Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 06-08-2006 08:18 AM
Ammonia problems!!!HELP!! JeffCSU Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 12-04-2005 11:12 PM
Ammonia problems bhath19 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 09-23-2004 07:56 PM
Ammonia problems Butters Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 08-18-2003 05:08 AM
Ammonia problems? MOR C 42 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-16-2003 09:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.