Need help with new 110

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

danben

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello Everyone!

So I've never done a saltwater/reef setup and I recently purchased a 110 gallon tank with a considerable amount of equipment for $300 (good deal? bad deal? you tell me...)

The previous owner had it set up as a reef and I was wondering if doing this would be not only feasible but maintainable, considering that I'm new to this and the equipment I've got.

Anyways, so here goes. I purchased the following:

110 Gallon tank (5'x1.5'x2')
*Wood stand (threw out as it was seriously damaged, planning on building one in the coming months)
170lbs seafloor reef sand
Eheim Pro 2329 Canister Filter with inline heater
Fluval 403 filter
(The above two items came with [dead] biological media that I can reuse)
Berlin Venturie HOB skimmer (300 gallon pump)
4 different powerheads of various strengths
and a few other smaller items that are nice to have (python hose, master test kit, hydrometers, thermometers, etc.)

So yeah. The tank currently holds water but the silicone isn't in great shape so I'm planning on re-doing that.

The tank also did not come with lights or a hood, so I'll have to get that.

On a final note, I'm kind of worried about weight as the largest tank I've had yet is a 55. The tank will be taking the place of a piano in the room so I don't think it should be much of an issue, but just in case I thought I'd ask.

I know I'm just throwing everything out there but I just thought I'd give as much info as possible to get any suggestions I could by those more knowledgeable in this.

Thanks a ton ahead of time! :D