Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-21-2009, 09:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Need help with stocking ideas

I am new to SW cycling a 45 gallon corner tank. Most of my sand I got from an established tank and all the live rock. As I move my rock around I am finding all sorts of new life from sponge, soft corals, to feather dusters. I am trying to research fish, crabs and shrimp that will be reef safe. The fish I was considering was a sixline wrasse and a royal gamma. Now I find out that the wrasse will eat the feather dusters. I am looking for 3 small fish that won't out grow the tank, reef safe, and will accept prepared foods.
TIA

Old 07-21-2009, 10:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by joy13 View Post
The fish I was considering was a sixline wrasse and a royal gamma. Now I find out that the wrasse will eat the feather dusters. I am looking for 3 small fish that won't out grow the tank, reef safe, and will accept prepared foods.
TIA
I love my 6-line and he doesn't mess with the feather dusters (all very small, came as hitchhikers). I have seen a dramatic reduction in copepods and small bristle worms though.

Old 07-21-2009, 10:12 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Strange thing in this tank I don't see any bristleworms. My little 8 gallon that I have cycling up for a QT is full of them. I am thinking of trapping a couple and moving them to my big tank if I don't find any soon. I have seen first hand what a bristleworm and know to be careful.
Old 07-21-2009, 11:39 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by joy13 View Post