Need Some Help on My New Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gilly

Aquarium Advice Regular
Just set up my new Saltwater tank for a week now with 25lb of live rock in a 25 Gallon tank. No fish or reef whatsoever but my ammonia is still showing. Should i wait a few more days and what should i start putting in first? Sorry im a newbie in raising saltwater fishes.

BTW im running an eclipse top and max-jet 400 would that do?

it is cycling the rock. please wait before adding anything else. wait several weeks if you can resist.
what kind of lighting? are you using only the builtin filter? what media? are you skimming? what brand?

I am using the Eclipse built in filter. I dont have a skimmer and im using a maxi-jet 400 for water circulation. As for lighting i have one white light and a neon blue one as well. Is it good enough for a 25gallon tank?

how many watts total? i assume you mean one 10000K and one actinic? check on the bulb...
about the filtration: i highly suggest you begin skimming (preferaably with a GOOD skimmer :)) in the next month or so. or just keep the bioload LOW.
then, after that, you can add some stuff.
the builtin filter is not good for reefs. it will get full of detritus and cause water quality issues. i would look into getting a decent power compact light for this if you want to have any corals. if not, it SHOULD be okay for FOWLR.
also, the cleanup crew is the highlight of every tank! that will be a highlight of your system even if it is FOWLR. plus, you can upgrade light later and add coral then :)

hope this helps...

oh yeah, the maxijet is too small. you need much more power.
id use 2 maxijet 600 or 1200's, one at each far end of the tank, pointed directly at eachother. IMO.