need to know the do's and dont's for my tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

saltwaterfishie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hi im completely new to salt water aquariuims, and i need help! i have a 10 gallons tank and need to know the do's and dont's for my tank! also where i could find the cheapest stuff, what kind of fish would work best, and what i need! thank you! :fish2:

There are several articles that will help you out in our articles section to help you get started. You can also check out the nano fish section on liveaquaria.com to get an idea of what kind of fish can go into such a small tank.

hi im completely new to salt water aquariuims, and i need help! i have a 10 gallons tank and need to know the do's and dont's for my tank! also where i could find the cheapest stuff, what kind of fish would work best, and what i need! thank you! :fish2:

Do research, research, research. Don't go cheep, good quality stuff is better and will last longer. You really get your money worth in this hobbyThis is the key to the salty side of the hobby. For a 10g I recommend a good oversized hob filter and a smaller power head. I used this one http://www.shop.mediabaskets.com/Hy...-HY01144.htm?gclid=CJzmrvvUncsCFYE8gQod7tQAlQ
A good heater is a must, as stable water chemistry is a major thing. An then we come to lights. Do you want corals?
If so corals require high grade lights in order to grow. I use the Chinese black boxes.

live aquaria says that their website is down, and what is the benefit to having coral? and what are some alternatives? and what fish could i put in a 10g tank? and should i just buy a tank that comes with all the essentials or would buying it separately be cheaper?