Needing help starting a 29g biocube PC/LED tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

underthesealover

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I purchased set up yesterday this 29g biocube tank I bought from Petco and brought with me home four of petco 5gal real ocean water, two 20lbs of nature's ocean aragonite live reef sand, aqueon heater and a live rock package which I don't know what kind what I just know they had it set up in their existing aquarium there and its very heavy and a lot that I paid for 100$.

The store manager said this is all I need for to start up my tank and I just want to make sure I am doing everything right since I am just new with this. I joined this forum almost 2years ago wanting to really have a saltwater tank with reef.

My question is when I set it up yesterday I put the sand, rock and add water on it and start running it and I didn't turn on the heater till just today and I am just wondering that is that good enough or I am doing it wrong? I also read a thread about cycling the tank and throwing a raw shrimp there to feed the bacteria in the rock to start cycling it? How will I know if my rock is cured enough coz my husband just put everything there in the tank without washing anything and if my rock is really safe to be in my tank or should I take it out? Also I want to know if my rock is safe when we just put it in a tank that is just newly set up like that or we killed it coz its not ready yet? I also want to know if its still normal that the water is still cloudy yet and if yes how long it will take before it get clear?