Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-18-2007, 01:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
Needs a nuke!

Hey guys and girls
i am going to get right to the point and hope it not too late. i have been at school for the past 2 months and totally though my parents would keep my tank up to par. Boy was i wrong! There no bringing back anything i would think
First let me give you a list of all equipment and inhabitants i have or had

-30gcube Sw reef setup
-150 HQI light 14000k
-reefpac bacpac skimmer
-4 maxi jet 900 power heads on wave maker skimmer
-3 inch’s of sand
-30-35lbs of fiji/tonga LR
-one Oclown fish
- one sixline walrus
-one toadstool leather
-one torch coral
-lots of poylups/and shrooms
-pulsing exzina


There’s what i have. My first lost happened the other day. i had a beautiful maxima clam. it was a sad day when i lost him.
my snail and hermits i dont see any more. its like they all disappeared.

How to fix..

Now heres my question, i need to nuke this system and i have tried water changes the past 2 months and i have seen no improvement what so ever. i am thinking about putting my 2 fish in a small tank i once had and doing a major overhaul on this one.. i need help in what to do. i have hair algae everywhere and i think i may be getting other types as well.
Think the worst people. How can i over come this? And what should my first steps be to getting my once beautiful tank back in to shape?
Thanks so much for your help. Anything will do better then what I have already done
__________________

__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 11:22 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
What are your water readings now? Nitrate, phosphate. Any ammonia present?
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 02:21 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Please post all your water parameters.
When was the last PWC and how much did you change?
Are you using RODI water for your top off and PWCs?
Continue doing PWC of 20% per day to get the levels down quickly.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 03:35 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
hey guys. i was just informed there was a large water change about 3 weeks ago. like 10g on this 30g tank. i just did my water spec and they all were in very good range. the only thing i seen was my ph was a little off at 7.8 but i cant ever remember my ph ever being higher then 8.0 its always been a lighter green color. never that deep looking color.
ammo-0ppm
natrites- 0ppm
natrates-0-5ppm
ph- 7.8ish

dont have a phospate kit
i dont run carbon.. should i put a small bag in there for a few weeks?
somthing else i think may have cause my clam to die was i cut my lighting way back to help fight the hairalage. i think the only thing it killed was my clam. is this possible?
__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 06:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 250
I would grab a phospate test kit as soon as possible, that is most likey where all your algae is coming from. Partial Water changes along with manually removing the algae and maybe try running a phospate reducing media will help and have your tank back up in tip top shape in no time

HTH
__________________
JoshsReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 08:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
see i dont have a rodi unit.. i have had my tank for a year now and have had other SW tanks befor this one and i still have yet to buy one. LOL. i use distilled water from foodlion in the red jug. is that ok? or should i use spring or somthing else? i dont trust my LFS as far as i could throw them. i am willing to bet they dont change their filters on the water they sell. any other ideas what i could do? and in a 30g how many hermits or snails or both should i have?
thanks
__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 08:42 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogspawn
i use distilled water from foodlion in the red jug. is that ok?
I used it for many years. If I had my choice I would rather do RO/DI but Distilled is the next best thing IMO. The RO/DI unit would be cheaper in the long run also.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 03:22 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Get a phosphate kit and start testing.
Distilled water is fine, but test it for phosphates too, anyway.

Snail population should be around 1 per gallon from what I read.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 03:45 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I think I would be checking Ebay for an RO/DI unit. They really aren't that expensive and well worth it! Like the guys said check the distilled water for phosphates as well as your tank. I would also be looking at doing PWCs 2 times a week. The first thing to do though is find out what your phostphate readings are and keep checking the other levels in the tank.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 06:18 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
so what are the main things i am testing for ing my water? PH, ammo,trates,trites,phos, and calcium. is this correct? and if i find no phos. in my water how long would it take for the hair alage to start to fade away? or will it have to be eaten or removed?
__________________

__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I hope i didnt nuke my corals?!?! 2nicewitit Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 01-03-2009 02:25 PM
What do you use to inject/nuke your aips? reefrunner69 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 19 07-08-2003 03:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.