Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-08-2011, 10:00 PM   #1
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Got a 55 set up now with fish and live rock looking for some ideas on setting up the new bigger tank. We have decided we don't want corrals so both tanks will be FOWLRS only. Should I do a sump or
Cannister filter? I currently have crushed corral would Sand be better?
__________________

__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 10:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
i woulkd say bio filtration is better on a sump and it also holds a higher water volume so when a fish dies the pollution stays lower, and you han have a slightly higher bio load. a sump can hold a refugium for pods.

a canister holds media to filter the water thats all it does
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 10:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Just.A.Bit.Salty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Murrieta,CA
Posts: 294
If you have the extra money I say put a sump on there to make life a little easier for ya. I always pick sand over crushed coral but that's up to you, same thing if you can afford it lay down some sand
__________________
Just.A.Bit.Salty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 10:36 PM   #4
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Thanks guys. Yes I am going to take some time to build this tank and of course the money lol. What kind of sand would I buy? I was hoping for a white sand? Is it true sand is easier to keep clean? What I meant by the canister filter was that along with a skimmer on the back? Right now my 55 has a double bio wheel HOB filter and a prism deluxe skimmer. I have 2 koalia level 3-4 power heads as well. I also have about 25-30lbs live rock. If you do a sump do you need a in sump protein skimmer?
__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 10:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you don't need an in sump protein skimmer for a sump, but it's one of the major reasons for a sump. in sump skimmers are much better than the HOB models.

yes, the smaller the grains of sand, the harder it is for uneaten food and fish poop to get trapped in between the granules. if you choose aragonite based sand, it will buffer the ph.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
i've heard you can use sandbox sand, i bought caribisand and it wasn't to expensive
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i heard "southdown" sand was good to use, but most of the play sand is silica based, and they say it leaches silicates out and causes algae issues. i don't know how true that is, but it's been the advice for years.
plus, it doesn't buffer the ph.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:24 PM   #8
Tlc
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
I definitely want the sand to buffer the ph and I Don't want any algae lol. The tank is 48x18x30 so how many inches of sand is a good amount? Can I purchase the sand wash it and put it in the tank even though I'm not adding water right away?
__________________
Tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:28 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
sure you can. i don't know how many inches is a good amount. that's going to be up to you. will you be keeping any sand dwellers?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
i have a friend wo uses nothing but playbox sand and i don't think hes ever had an issue but i haven't asked him about that. 3 inches is a nice depth for a sand bed i'd say. it allows for nice invert burrows
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10 gallon, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
choosing a filter for a 110 gallon tank Pristine Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 03-22-2010 02:20 AM
My turn - RedNeck Dave's 110 gallon "Tank Makeover"ld. asudavew DIY Projects 34 05-22-2009 10:22 AM
110 gallon tank foot print blrrobinson21 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 02-19-2009 10:26 AM
110 Gallon Malawi Tank RoLeX Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 13 10-20-2006 12:37 PM
500l/110 gallon tank.. what to stock with? Indigo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 06-26-2006 10:16 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.