Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-15-2006, 12:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

New 150g Fowlr or reef, some questions....

Hello everyone, I'm new to salt water and have been doing some research over the last week or two. I have a 150g oceanic tank w/ dual overflows, sump and ocean clear inline canister filter.

I plan to cycle the tank w/ 100 or 150 lbs of live rock.... do I really need to add the raw shrimp? I will probably get uncured live rock, so is the shrimp really necessary? Should I get all uncured live rock, or a combo of live rock and base rock to save money?

I need lighting and a skimmer. The tank is kind of tall, same footprint as a 125g but 4in taller. I would like to get enough lighting for some moderate light corals to start - without breaking the bank. What is best VHO, T5, PC? What is the most economical to run (uses the least power)? How many watts per gallon?

Any advice on the skimmer for a 150g?

Also, should I wait to add sand until after the tank is cycled?

Thanks, I have more questions... but I'll wait until you guys can touch on these.

Old 08-15-2006, 02:57 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Welcome to AA

The shrimp shouldn’t be necessary but I’d still make sure you have an nh3 spike of at least 2 ppm for a decent cycle. That amount of lr should kick it well beyond that unless it’s cycled from a local fish store.

Medium light corals will probably need MH lighting or MH/PC combo if it’s the standard 150 gal tank size (73 x 19 x 29) due to the depth. VHO would be the next best thing (and cheaper to run) IMO but either way it’s not going to be that cheap and you will need 500W-800W. If your handy and can build it yourself with a retro kit you should be able to do it for around $300-$500.