Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2011, 05:19 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
get rid of that big filter on the bottom of that aquaclear power head.
is that little thing your protein skimmer? the one with the wooden air stone? that's very good for aerating the water, but not for much else i'm afraid.
you can and should remove the air stone that's behind the rock. you don't need that and it will probably just cause salt buildup on your hood and lighting.
i would also try to leave the lights off as much as possible while cycling the tank. during the cycle the water is nutrient rich. that combined with light makes for a perfect environment for nuisance algae to grow.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 05:46 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
hmm thanks i'll keep it off, i've had it on during the day to add a nice look, but i'll keep it off while its cycling.

how come i should remove the filter on my headpump, are they not required?

is there a better brans of skimmer i should get?
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 06:11 PM   #13
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Octopus brand skimmer is the best IMO.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 08:23 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
mines an oceanic, once my tank starts to get bigger i'll look into changing it out for now its not even collecting anything so theres no point
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 10:25 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i mentioned removing the filter because it's obtrusive, and will probably just be a nitrate producing problem for you in a short time. why would you want to have to put your hands in the tank and freak out the fish to change/clean that thing weekly?

your tank is small. you could get away without a protein skimmer if you wanted. it's quite easy to keep that tank healthy and looking good with nothing more than weekly 15-20% water changes.
i would rather have more space inside the tank than that skimmer. generally, skimmers that are made for nanos don't really work very well. the oceanic model included.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:07 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
has anyone used an LED light strip for their reef aquariums. i'm an electrician so i have access to LED strip lighing, and i know an LED strip can give of alot more light at a MUCH MUCH lower wattage.
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 12:40 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
the LED strips you have access to will not support photosynthetic creatures. the ones that LED reef fixtures utilize are 1 and 3 watts a piece. i'm not saying you can't build a fixture, but it's not a series of LEDs that are the same ones used in standard applications.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:40 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
hmm i was just thinking, that with my power head filteri could always put ammonia and nitrogeon media fill in it and add some extra cleaning to the water.

its not a big tank and i know this so i'm tryign to figure out ways that i can increase the filtration and cleaning so i can put more then 4 fish. i've got 19 pounds of live rock which i moved around so i have more space for more which i'm told helps with filtering also
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:52 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
after 2 weeks i did my test and the ammonian and nitrite came back at 0 ph came in at 8.1ish and nitrate at 5ppm so i figured i'd get a few hardy clownfish and some inverst, 4 snails 2 mexican turbos and 2 astreas and 3 hermit crabs( forgot what the yare called but they have blue legs, and aren't blue legged hermits lol)

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:36 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
salt fish aren't like fresh water fish. you just can't put as many in a confined space, no matter how clean the water is. they will stress out, immune systems will get weaker, and they will get sick. either that or they will jump on you, or kill each other.
that said, it's never bad to have extra filtration.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
6 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a 30 Gallon stand hold a 38/45 gallon tank? tropicalfish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-30-2006 01:06 PM
Questions about 10 gallon refugium thingy for 55 gallon tank bigtard Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 12-27-2005 01:47 AM
Upgrading Tank... 10 Gallon to 12 Gallon Nano Cube Deluxe noone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-13-2005 03:21 PM
1.5 inches/gallon vs. 1 inch/gallon stocking level dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-15-2005 02:43 AM
30 gallon cube and 46 gallon hex stocking ideas PK Tester Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 12-19-2004 02:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.