New 26 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gti_Leo

Aquarium Advice Addict
i'm new to the saltwater aquarium community, years ago i owned a fresh water aquarium, but i was 12 years old so i didn't care to really take care of it.

now, 14 years later after having done some research, i just purchased a 26 gallon bowfront aquarium kit to get a saltwater aquarium running. Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit - New Year Sale - Holiday Sales - PetSmart

i purchases a new digital thermometer, a protein skimmer, i grabbed a head pump but i accitentally told the girl at the cash i didn't need it thinking it was just a regular pump for a bubbler :S, i was tired after a ling day of work :p sue me.

i also bought some live sand (not enough mind you). which brings me to my big question, the water in my area is pretty bad and we neeed a water softener to help soften and clean out our water, so i purchansed 5 gallon jugs of distilled water which i used to fill the tank up.

how i filled it is now worrying me, i put one jug of water in and added my salt to it, tested it and it was fine, i added another jug, didn't add any salt to it and then put in a small bag (i think 1lbs) of live sand, then i proceeded to filling the rest of the tank and it god very cloudy and foam formed on the surface from the sand. then added salt, testing it was bringing a low result, but i didn't want to add to much just incase all the salt hadn't disolved.
listening to my father i left the filter off to let the sand settle, but i resently turned it on as well as the skimmer and heater.

my question is, will i wake up to find my front hallway smells like dead live sand organisms or should i be alright with it?