New 29 Gallon Tank Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lioness2

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey All,

So I'm new to saltwater and so is my husband. I am going to be setting up the 29 gallon tank this Friday to surprise him for his birthday when he gets home (Yay!). I originally bought the Aqueon 29 gallon deluxe kit but after extensive reading for a couple of weeks I have seen that I should upgrade the filter and that the heater is not all that great but it will do (I've heard that you have to keep it higher than it really says so we'll keep an eye on that).

On my way back from the doc today I stopped in at the LFS in that town and had a little chat with the employee there. He was extremely nice but after reading everything I have I had a pretty good idea about what was needed to run a fish and coral tank. But now I am totally confused so I have a few questions for you guys! So, he told me that to have coral and fish in a 29 gallon tank will be literally impossible to maintain, is this true? Because I have seen on this forum that people have done it! At this I got a little worried so I asked what he thought I might need for the tank. That's when he said I should just stick with everything I have in the deluxe kit. When I asked if I should get power heads for moving the water, he told me that you don't need them if I plan on upgrading the filter. Is this true? I saw a clip of what can happen to fish if they don't have a good flow in the tank and how much stress it puts on them. I don't want to be in that position! So here is a little list of the things I have so far now:

-29 gallon tank (30"x13"x19")
-30" hood and light system the tank came with (going to upgrade later when the tank is established more)
-100 watt heater that came with the tank
-upgrade to Aqueon QuietFlow55 filter (for sizes 45-60 gallon tank)
-Instant Ocean