Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-17-2011, 11:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

New 30 Gallon Tank Question

Hey guys. I've been keeping FW fish tanks for about 6 years now and have always loved it. I have recently graduated from college and have found myself with a more stable living situation. As a result, I have decided to take the plunge into SW aquariums.

I am currently cycling my 30 gallon tank with 45lbs of live rock. In the tank right now, aside from my live rock, is a Remora HOB skimmer, 2 Hydor Koralia Nano 240's, and a heater.

My biggest question right now is about the Marineland 200 Bio-Wheel Power Filter that I bought yesterday. I was under the impression that a SW tank should have some sort of activated carbon filtration in it, but after reading up a bit more about it, I am unsure whether or not I actually need it. If someone could clear up whether or not I actually need it, that would be much appreciated. Also, if I do need it, could you let me know if I should have it running while the tank is cycling, or wait until the cycle is over.

Thanks in advance!!!

Old 06-19-2011, 08:52 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you don't need to run carbon, but it certainly can't hurt to use it. i wouldn't waste your carbon cartridges on a cycling tank.

Old 06-19-2011, 11:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

I also have a question concerning aquascaping. I have heard that it may be potentially bad to have a lot of live rock laying down on the sand. Should I try to minimize the amount of live rock touching the sand bed, or does it matter?
Old 06-19-2011, 11:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict