Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-12-2013, 10:57 PM   #71
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
200 lbs of sand in the tank. Have me about an inch of depth on average. I think that should be good for a FOWLR. Just my thoughts. Anybody think I should do more? Not looking to do a deep sand bed, but do you think an inch is okay?


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-520410310.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	120.1 KB
ID:	211752



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3405082014.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	95.4 KB
ID:	211753
__________________

__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 07:41 PM   #72
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
Getting there with the water level. Comes out to 12.5 gallons per inch. Moved almost 90 lbs of live rock into it this afternoon and using water from my 150 gallon tank. Between the tank and the sump, I need about 120 more gallons o saltwater (roughly). There will be another 150 lbs of live rock being added too, so that should cut down a little for this tank. I'll still need to add it to the 150 gallon since that's where the rock is coming from.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2263143041.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	103.2 KB
ID:	211864
__________________

__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 08:02 PM   #73
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North carolina
Posts: 2,783
Looks good, man thats alot of sand,rock, and water!
__________________
Fishman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 12:20 PM   #74
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
Added about 70 more lbs of live rock this morning. I'm thinking about having two islands instead of one long line of them. The eel and grouper are the main fish I'm thinking about with this rock placement. What do you guys think would be best from you experience or knowledge?
__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 01:36 PM   #75
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
Well there's about 220 lbs of rock in now. Made two islands. What do you guys think??

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4256338316.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	137.5 KB
ID:	211964
__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 03:04 PM   #76
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
This tank is so excessively large that you could put 500 lbs of rock in there and it would still look empty lol
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 03:17 PM   #77
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MJSerik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 389
Looks good, maybe you could find a large slab of rock and make a bridge lookin thing. Just a thought
__________________
MJSerik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 03:41 PM   #78
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
I agree, Huma. Not sure my wallet would like buying 500 lbs. though... Lol. And the bridge idea, MJ, would be awesome! A rock that size would easily weigh over 100 lbs by itself, but if I could find one, I might consider it. There are several 20+ lb rocks in there now, and they don't even look that big. Hmmm... How to make a bridge????
__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 03:53 PM   #79
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MJSerik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 389
You could have "supports" every foot and buy shelf rock. Sort of like this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-278314360.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	86.7 KB
ID:	211984  
__________________
MJSerik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 04:04 PM   #80
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North carolina
Posts: 2,783
I have a small piece of bridge rock, about 8lbs in my 37. My invertabrates and starry blenny actually use it for a bridge lol, until i covered it up under another piece.
__________________

__________________
Fishman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.