New 36gal tank, need some help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Roly99

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 36 gal tank, about 40lbs of live rock, about 3" of sand, and an emperor 280 hob filter.

I have had it running about 5 weeks with 3 damsels in there about 4 weeks, and the live rock in there a couple of days. My tests all seem to be good.

I am a complete newbee at this and would like to know if i should invest in a canister filter (instead of hob) and a skimmer. Also I would like to eventually get some corals in there, so i will probably need a couple ph.

Any recommendations for a canister filter, ph, and skimmer? Like I said I'm a newbee, i dont know how big of a powerhead i need or how many i should get. As for the protein skimmer, I am currently eyeing the SeaClone, as thats the one they commonly use at my lfs.

Also, is there any way to get rid of those tiny bubbles floating arround tank? Are they a result of my hob filter?

Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.

Keep an eye on your ammonia readings. Sometimes, adding LR to your already "established" system will cause a spike due to die off. Always best to QT the rock for a few days, especially if it was shipped to you.

IMO, the canister isn't needed. A skimmer and HOB would be fine for you. If you are wishing to keep corals, I would advise the skimmer, althought there are people (like me currently, new one on the way) who run no skimmer, and have corals fine.

As for the PH, its best to you about 10 to 15 x turnover in your tank. 36 gallons x 10 would be atleast 360 gph. Shoot for a total number(including skimmer, HOB, PH, etc) of higher than this.

I have the sea clone on order as well. Its not the best to buy, but I have heard nothing but good about it so far.

Best of luck. :)