Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-08-2012, 06:55 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Haha! Guess I'll stick to this then!
__________________

__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:59 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Thanks for the advice. I will QT it in a bin. It has to sit in the bin for a month? Do I add anything to the bin as far as any medicine or just let it sit in there for awhile. I'm not really too sure how the QT works. I have a 90 gallon tank with a sailfin and 3 damsels. None of them were put in a QT and I've had them for awhile now. I've just been lucky with them.

This 55 gallon is my new Fish only tank. All I have in it is live Rock and snails. Would I have to QT the first fish I put in there Or can I add the 3 chromis without the need to QT them since they can't infect any other fish?

Sorry for all the questions.
__________________

__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 10:26 PM   #23
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich42082 View Post
Thanks for the advice. I will QT it in a bin. It has to sit in the bin for a month? Do I add anything to the bin as far as any medicine or just let it sit in there for awhile. I'm not really too sure how the QT works. I have a 90 gallon tank with a sailfin and 3 damsels. None of them were put in a QT and I've had them for awhile now. I've just been lucky with them.

This 55 gallon is my new Fish only tank. All I have in it is live Rock and snails. Would I have to QT the first fish I put in there Or can I add the 3 chromis without the need to QT them since they can't infect any other fish?

Sorry for all the questions.
Don't apologize! Rather to ask and be safe than to not ask and be sorry

When you add the first fish, I'd say QT them as well. You don't want to infect your tank with any disease they might carry. And if they do end up having a disease, you'll be free to use copper-based medications on them if you QT, since inverts like snails can't tolerate copper. You might be able to get away with shortening the QT process. Since there are no fish to infect, it's less of a risk. That's just my opinion though I may be wrong.
__________________
Bettafanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:28 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr. D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schism
Well that better the $90 my crappy LFS charges for an ich infected flame angel lol.
That sucks they are $35 at my LFS for nice size ones. No ich, lol
__________________
Mr. D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:20 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. D

That sucks they are $35 at my LFS for nice size ones. No ich, lol
Yeah i LOL when i seen the price tag. Fish stores are not very educated around here.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 04:19 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr. D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schism

Yeah i LOL when i seen the price tag. Fish stores are not very educated around here.
Yeah, talk about a price hike. They are not even a rare-ish fish.
__________________
Mr. D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:05 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
When I QT my newbies I assume that they are either carriers of parasites or have some that haven't shown up yet. You have to realize that at a lot of fish stores, their tanks all run off the same system so let's say they have some clowns bred in captivity that were parasite free when they got there but also have fish caught in the wild. Parasites have stages that they can swim freely so that being the case, and the water being dispersed from the same system, they are in my mind contaminated. I treat them with meds. So far, haven't lost any to disease or parasites. Only to aggression and that's when my female clown went loco on the male.
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:15 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Well, I'm just waiting for my Miracle Mud and I might invest in an auto top off. Once I get that going I'll be ready for some fish. Thanks again.
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:32 PM   #29
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki_kaiser View Post
When I QT my newbies I assume that they are either carriers of parasites or have some that haven't shown up yet. You have to realize that at a lot of fish stores, their tanks all run off the same system so let's say they have some clowns bred in captivity that were parasite free when they got there but also have fish caught in the wild. Parasites have stages that they can swim freely so that being the case, and the water being dispersed from the same system, they are in my mind contaminated. I treat them with meds. So far, haven't lost any to disease or parasites. Only to aggression and that's when my female clown went loco on the male.
Very good advise here. +1
__________________
Bettafanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:38 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich42082
Well, I'm just waiting for my Miracle Mud and I might invest in an auto top off. Once I get that going I'll be ready for some fish. Thanks again.
Ummmm.....why Miracle Mud for a FOWLR?
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 55 gallon, fish only

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.