new 55 gallon tank. need help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jscholfield

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to saltwater aquariums and I have watched alot of videos and have read alot of sites on how to start and maintain a saltwater tank and I need just straight forward no bullshit advice.

Well your in a good place to start, Find a LFS you like and just ask ask ask learn from years of others mistakes and experience never be scared to ask stupid questions or ask for explanations most people in this hobby love to talk about it

Thank you! But one other thing. I've seen some tanks with and some without a sump. would I need one?

I have run tanks with out sumps for years with no major complications (BUT)
now I found out the benefits a sump can give for certain applications

It all depends on your future plans and what you expect from your tank
give us a idea of what you want for your tank and we all can give you a more accurate answer

Almost forgot welcome to AA

I want a tank with real live plants and coral i'm done with the fake plastic stuff it doesn't give off the same look. I want a couple clownfish some gobies and maybe a small snowflake eel. Just a nice colorful tank.

You do not *need* a sump, but they provide numerous benefits.
Increased water volume (stability)
A place to hide equipment (skimmer, heater, etc)
A place to cultivate macroalgae for nutrient export
A place to grow live food such as copepods, amphipods, mysid shrimp, etc.
There are not many true plants for marine aquariums other than seagrasses, but there are tons of beautiful macroalgae species available.